Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

The nerve of some people.

2005-09-26
12:08 p.m.

My brother just called to tell me the contractor who's been gutting my mom's house called him this morning. The house has been almost completely gutted now. Sheetrock is gone, bathtubs are gone, etc. You name it, it's gone.

The contractor had found a Chinese teapot she'd overlooked in the rubble that was unbroken, and he'd left it on a brick wall for my mother to pick up when she stopped by yesterday, which she did.

This morning he (the contractor) called my brother to ask if she'd noticed whether the surround sound speakers were still in her ceiling when she was there. My mom didn't notice, of course. I wouldn't have either...I'd have been too busy gaping at the bare floors and bare studs to notice that.

Apparently someone came in sometime during the night and removed not only her surround-sound speakers, but also several of his power tools. Good thing he didn't leave his generator there.

I really wouldn't have thought there would be looting in my mom's neighborhood. All the homes were flooded, and most household items are ruined. Of course if you are interested in looting, it's a perfect place to go, because no one is home to report it. That neighborhood is a ghost town right now, and will be for quite a while. They aren't even expected to have power for another month or so.

I know this is just a minor aggravation in the whole scheme of things, but it just makes me so mad.

I did receive pictures from my brother of my mom's house, but I haven't taken the time to figure out how to upload them just yet. It makes my head hurt to try.

_______________________________________


On a completely unrelated note, I did finally post a few new things on Trinket Trunk yesterday.


2 comments so far Bonnie Busch - 2005-09-27 11:39:11
Ya know, I know it's just "stuff" (the speakers) but DANG! What kind of person DOES that?? Talk about kicking people when they are down... I am very glad your family is safe =o)
-------------------------------
Summer Gale - 2005-09-26 14:00:56
Wow that's fast. I didn't think the insurance would respond that quickly!
-------------------------------

previous // next