Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Fourth grade and football.

2005-09-22
10:08 p.m.

It appears the hardcore approach to fourth grade is working. Oldest Son reports his social studies score in tomorrow's test papers will be good, and he's quite proud of himself.

This afternoon we studied for science, reading, spelling, and math tests, all tomorrow, and I'm happy to report he knows it all very well. Now if he'll just follow directions...but I know his teacher won't let me come in and make him read them twice. How can I be expected to micromanage my child if they won't let me come to class????

Football practices are underway, too, and Oldest Son is in for his first year of it. I think this may be his favorite sport yet. He's tried nearly all of them except tennis, and he's very confident in any sport. Just goes in knowing he can play it. Where does that come from? It sure as heck wasn't from me.

He really reminds me very much of my brother at this age. He had that same sports confidence, and seemed to naturally know how to play and keep score in every game. Of course he could have been bullshitting me, too, and I'd have never known.

The last two nights I've had Youngest Son at football practice with me, so that means I spend most of my time in the playground area, straining to see Oldest Son play while being available to spot Youngest Son on the monkey bars.

Somewhere along the way Youngest Son has gotten some wires crossed in that little brain of his and now concludes that court reporters equals monsters. As in, "Mama, there's court reporters in my closet/under my bed/etc."

For those of you that don't know, I am a court reporter. I promise I have not beaten or tortured this child and made him think court reporters are bad.

At first I thought it was amusing, and would remind him that I'm a court reporter. To which he always replies, "I know." Hmmm. Most of the time now I just try to console him when the bad court reporters are in his room. I'm sure one day he'll report his repressed memory and flare up my mother's guilt, because this kid never forgets anything.

Tonight I heard him tell another little boy he was playing with that he had a bad dream about court reporters. I was giggling to myself and eavesdropping hard, just waiting for the other little boy to ask him what a court reporter was, because I wanna know where this came from! My answer! But the other little boy just stared at him a minute and then told him, "You're it." Damn.

While shopping in Target today I found the perfect T-shirts to describe both of my boys, but I didn't buy them. I may just have to go back and get them, if only to have some pictures. Oldest Son's said, "It seemed like a good idea at the time." And Youngest One's said, "I've decided to put myself in charge." Those of you that know them in real life know I couldn't find two more perfect descriptions!

Over and out.


1 comments so far Fi - 2005-09-22 23:00:02
That T-shirt would have been soooo appropriate for my eldest too. I think having "good ideas at the time" is a boy thing!
-------------------------------

previous // next