Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Good deed gone hyper.

2005-09-28
3:05 p.m.

The old saying no good deed goes unpunished rings in my ears this afternoon.

I allowed -- nay, offered -- to let Oldest Son have his best friend over today after school to play. Our schood district has this screwy schedule where every last Wednesday of the month is an early release day. As in we're letting the kids out at 11:30, so you better figure out some childcare quickly, because we have workshops to do.

Most of the time it's not too big a problem for us, because Oldest Son can either go to after-school care or I pick him up, if I'm off. I have had clients with small offices, though, tell me it really cramps their business, too, because a lot of moms are legal secretaries, and they have to leave early, etc. Whatever. I really wasn't planning to talk about early release day.

Oldest Son's best friend's mom is a teacher, so he has to go to after-school care on the early release days. Today Oldest Son begged to go to AS care just to play with his best friend. I suggested Best Friend come home with us, and it would save both me and his mom $16 each.

Y'all, they have driven me nuts. It's drizzling here today, and gloomy and overcast, so I can't make them stay outside. Instead they've pinged and ponged all over this house from the sun room to the video games to the TV to the computer to the phone. Ugh. And I'm nursing a pretty good case of allergies, and I just don't feeeeeeeeeel like putting up with them.

I'm watching my driveway right now, looking for best friend's mom, so I can make mine do his homework and I can just sit around slack-jawed and drooling and blowing my nose occasionally in peace.

And do y'all remember Freckles of last summer's romance? Oldest Son was in lurve with her. But now, not so much. She talks to him too sweet in front of his friends, and it embarrasses him, and -- well, he just doesn't want to talk about it.

Except toDAY, when the little shit has a friend over, and he can impress said friend with his girlfriend, etc. Hence the phone ringing. Because as soon as Oldest Son calls Freckles the first time, it starts ringing back, because she calls and calls and calls.

I listened in on one phone call today. Guess Oldest Son hasn't figured out I can do that yet. And yeah, I did listen in, because I want to hear what they're talking about. Once I figured out it really was all innocent show-off chat on OS's part, I quietly hung up.

The mother in me wants to call Freckles and tell her, hey, he's using you. But something tells me one day she will figure that out on her own and I won't even have to say a word. She is a very, very cute little girl, and I'm sure she'll have plenty of other little boys to chase when she wants, and OS will be just a hazy memory to her.

I've told OS that he's using her, and that one day that worm will turn. If not with Freckles, then with another little girl. That someday someone will do the same thing with you, and it will hurt your feelings when you figure out they don't really like you, but are just acting like they do. But he doesn't respond, because I am Mom, and I could't possibly know stuff like that. Again, ugh.

Guess I'll go stand in the driveway and wait for Best Friend's mom now.


3 comments so far Jenn - 2005-09-30 09:05:25
I'm not looking forward to the whole my kid's at school and now he's got friends that he wants to have over junk. Or the girlfriend junk. I'll keep mine a toddler forever, I think. :)
-------------------------------
grizmom - 2005-09-29 16:37:40
Oh PC - this is ONLY the beginning! And I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but it's the beginning of a completely uphill battle. I'm with SummerGale - if I've gotta stare out the window, they've stayed too dang long! Believe me, somedays I stared out the window waiting for someone to pick my own son up! He too had overstayed! Hang in there my allergy-troubled cuz, this too will pass one day. Not any day soon, but one day!
-------------------------------
Summer Gale - 2005-09-28 16:06:49
If I'm left staring out the window at the driveway they've overstayed. I know how you feel! Especially if you aren't feeling tip top.
-------------------------------

previous // next