Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Going in.

2005-09-10
12:03 a.m.

Mom and Oldest Brother are going home tomorrow (actually it's today, since it's after midnight here). No, not to stay, but so my mom can see what she's looking at as far as her house is concerned.

Mom would also really like to bring her car back to Mississippi, if it's driveable, but is worried they won't leave early enough to arrive back at their hotel before dark. She says her cataracts just don't allow her to see well enough to drive in the dark on unfamiliar country back roads.

I have every finger and toe in this household crossed for her that she didn't flood. I've looked and looked at the aerial photographs of her neighborhood, and I just can't tell. Her roof damage is apparent, and the driveway definitely has mud, as well as the street in front, but maybe not as much as in other parts of the neighborhood.

My brother's friend who reported four to five feet of flooding in his house lives toward the back of her subdivision. I've spent a good hour tonight trying to figure out where that is in relation to her, but I just don't know the street layout well enough to tell.

They'll be back at their hotel by tomorrow night, and hopefully her/our minds will be at peace, knowing what's what. Even if she is flooded, it'll be better to know than this wondering we're all doing.

I've suggested a box of gloves, just in case there is flooding and she wants to try to salvage some things. And water and soap, too, as their water isn't ready for public use yet, I'm sure.

As soon as I find out, I'll be back posting. Until then, everybody pray, cross your fingers and toes, and face south and hold your breath, please.

Over and out.


1 comments so far grizmom - 2005-09-10 09:17:59
PC, you know I've crossed all my body parts and am holding my breath - facing south. I can't do this very well and for very long, so will slip in a breath when I have too.. the thought behind it is the same though. Praying for their safety and some peace of mind for everyone.
-------------------------------

previous // next