Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Disaster area.

2005-09-10
5:32 p.m.

Wow, it's not good. My brother said the neighborhood looks like a war zone. There is mud everywhere, trees are down, and cars are beat up.

There's been approximately five feet of flooding in Mom's house. Her first clue came immediately when there were items blocking the front door. A wooden rocking chair that usually resides in a bedroom was on top of her computer keyboard in the den.

She wasn't actually able to get into any of the bedrooms for all of the furniture blocking the doorways. (There's not doors on any of the doorframes but one bathroom in the house, since my brother needed extra room for his wheelchair to go through them).

In Mom's room the dresser is blocking the doorway, but she was able to see that the piano was turned over. I played that piano last time I was home, too, the weekend before the storm. And I'm sad that it's lost, though I hated it for the three years I was chained into piano lessons.

The living room sounds like just utter chaos. The TV is off the stand in the floor, the furniture all in varying degrees of turned over and moved.

In the kitchen, the lower cabinets are falling apart and the refrigerator door was open.

In the garage she could see the trash cans had been floated around the garage, as well as many other things, so she didn't even look in her car.

And everywhere she walked was a very slick layer two to three inches deep of water and mud. In fact, she said she might have looked longer, but was afraid of losing her footing and landing in the sludge, and she didn't have any other clothes with her.

Probably one of the more chilling things was my brother reading to me the symbols spray painted in orange on her garage door and her telling me she could see some footsteps in the sludge where the search and rescue team had been in looking for survivors.

My brother's house is fine. He does have some shingle damage, but not a whole lot of that, even. And he has water and phone, but no power.

I see you've finally reported in, Loki-Katt...it's good to see you back!! And I'm thrilled that you and your family made out okay. I know you've been so stressed about getting a new roof, and I commented to Hubby, I hope she gets a new roof so that will be one less stressor in her life.

Have you been able to hear from your brother, and has your sister been back to her town to see her place?

Over and out.


3 comments so far Kathy - 2005-09-10 18:43:43
Mel - your poor mom! As I look around my home and imagine the loss, it's just overwhelming!
-------------------------------
Shear-Madnez - 2005-09-10 21:45:41
It saddens me to read of your mom's loss in her home but I am so happy that she is safe and didn't try to ride the storm out.
-------------------------------
grizmom - 2005-09-11 16:01:48
PC - thank goodness everyone is now accounted for! E & D, we've all been praying for you! Tell Aunt Willy that we're thinking of her too. She can always come north - which I know she'd just LOVE! :) Give her my love!
-------------------------------

previous // next