Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

It's always something, isn't it?

2007-05-12
11:03 a.m.

My dryer died this week. According to the repairman who arrived to pronounce it dead, it had been ailing for a while, I just didn't recognize the symptoms. (It would occasionally shut off in the middle of a cycle. Since it always came back on when I restarted it, I didn't worry about that. Turns out that is a symptom of a dying motor on its last legs.)

After finding out it would cost more for a new motor than to just purchase a new dryer, I headed down to my friendly Lowe's to pick out a shiny new one. Walked in, looked at all of them, picked out a middle-of-the-road Maytag, and walked out.

Yesterday I waited most of the day for delivery of said dryer, which didn't arrive because they had too much to deliver. At 2:30 I had to leave for an appointment, so they rescheduled me for this morning.

They just left my house, and I still don't have a dryer. Arrrgggghh! There will be yet another trip to the laundromat today, because Oldest Son has another baseball game tonight, and his uniform is dirty, of course. I had gone to the laundromat to wash it for the last game on Thursday night.

Turns out they're (Lowe's, anyway) having a lot of trouble with Maytags. Who knew? I can't go until after 5:00 tonight to pick out a new one, because the store has to have that one back before I get credit for it. That trip has to be sandwiched between a school fair this afternoon and tonight's baseball game in a nearby town.

***************************************

In other gossipy news, the ex-postwoman's trailer across the street was moved yesterday, and we now have a clear view of the goats and emus in the field behind it. Which has given Youngest Son a new goal...he really, really wants to go pet a goat.

I love seeing the green field (and the goats and emus) from my office, so I'm really hoping the lady that owns the land doesn't move another trailer back onto that spot.

***************************************

Trixie and Daisy love to lay at our garage door with their heads out the cat door, watching what the kids and cats are doing in the garage. It's quite funny to see from the garage side. Looks like a big boxer head trophy very low on the door. From the inside it's funny as hell, too, because their tails are wagging so hard.

We're thinking about installing two cat doors into our fence at boxer level, so they can watch the kids playing out in the driveway on their bikes. I've seen the acrylic bubbles that can be installed in the fence, but it seems like they would be a.) hot, and b.) full of dog slobber all the time.

***************************************

The clean garage I achieved some months ago is being tarnished with new junk, much of it encroaching on the clean space with NOTHING in it...I have raised my eyebrow to this and pronounced another garage clean-out session very soon. It'll have to wait till June, but it's on my radar. Hubby and both boys are trying to ignore my comments.

Must go wash the aforementioned baseball uniform and run.

Over and out.


0 comments so far

previous // next