Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Decision made: I'm all done.

2005-12-24
9:18 p.m.

Remember that Holidaily somewhat oath I made earlier this month? Yeah, I didn't care about that last night. Plus, we are having some trouble keeping our internet connection here at The Very Nice Hotel, so together those, along with a couple other key ingredients, added up to no entry yesterday. (End quasi apology)

Yesterday my Get Up and Go met in a head-on collision with my Got Up and Went in reference to the Box of Rocks House. The House That I Am So So So Done With. Tired of the caps yet? Me, too.

We touched up paint and cleaned (read: I did these particular things) and socialized with various neighbors and co-workers all morning yesterday (read: Hubby did these things). About 1:00 I just grabbed a cushion off the Couch to be Donated and laid down in the empty den floor while waiting on my Chick-Fil-A delivery by most helpful co-worker.

While down there, I decided two things: One, our ceilings were in very good shape, no need to repaint there. And the other was that I, personally, was not going to do one more damn thing to dress up this house. God rest its soul, I am just done.

Later in the day one of Hubby's bowling team members (who is a subcontractor) came over to have a look at the porch railing and door frames that needed some repair work done, and we met him at the door like a hungry pack of wolves greeting the three little pigs. We had assembled quite the list for him, and he looked at it all, gave us a great price, and promised to do it early next week. And we hugged him and promptly changed Oldest Son's name to his name in his honor. And gave him the Couch to be Donated.

And with that, I left the Box of Rocks House last night with a clear conscience, a lighter checkbook, and a hyper Youngest Son. Hubby left a check and a key with his co-worker who wants to look at Bowling Team Member's work, because he, too, will probably soon be transferred by the company and selling his home. Lucky for us, it was a cool way to have someone check on the work without seeming untrusting.

In honor of Christmas Eve here in The Very Nice Hotel, tonight we ate dinner at the Chinese buffet. And I am haunting the halls of the nearly empty hotel in my rattiest of clothes -- too-short jeans and a paint-splattered t-shirt, no socks, Hubby's sandals -- doing laundry. Lucky for the other guests I'm not in my usual Laundry Day Attire, the rattiest nightgown I own. (I have just a tad of OCD about the laundry, and occasionally, while at home alone, even do white clothes last so that I may immediately go jump in the shower and put on clean clothes and then everything in the house is clean. Until the ungrateful family members keep wearing clean clothes every. single. day. This is probably too much information for you guys, huh? End laundry description.) Anyway, I had to go down to the lobby for more change, and almost -- but just almost -- made myself go change clothes before going down. Then quickly decided what the hell, I don't care.

A very nicely-dressed couple got on the elevator with me, and I felt a burning need to tell them we were moving, in between houses, you know, and I'm having to do laundry, and that's why I look so awful. Because ordinarily, you know, I'd be all dressed up like you guys on Christmas Eve, attending Hubby's Huge Family Christmas Party Blowout that is so very dull for all the spouses of that family, but then that's a story for another day...and then they got off on the second floor.

No, I didn't actually SAY anything but "Hello" to them, but I did have that long conversation with them in my head.

Last on my complaint list today is the only beef I have against The Very Nice Hotel. This automatic room temperature adjustment is for the birds. The seagull birds, I mean, because it is hot as hell in this room. I got Youngest Son the cutest pair of pajamas (and Oldest Son the cutest pajama pants, since they don't seem to make pajama sets that aren't either too lame or too baby in his size anymore), and had to have him put a t-shirt on instead because it is so freaking hot in here. We have turned on the AC, hoping to overcome the automatic heat being piped in against our free will.

Hope Santa leaves Something Wonderful in everyone's stocking tonight!

Over and out.


2 comments so far Cindy - 2005-12-25 00:36:00
Sounds like Santa wears bowling shoes. Glad it's all working out and not costing you one of your children. Merry Christmas!
-------------------------------
Shear - 2005-12-25 08:33:59
Merry Christmas to you and your family!
-------------------------------

previous // next