Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Baseball, dieting, beads, and transcripts. These are a few of my favorite things.

2006-04-04
9:18 a.m.

I wish I had some exciting news to post here, but I don't. Everything on my mind is baseball practice, dieting, beads, transcripts. And pretty much in that order, too! :)

**************************************
Baseball practice is picking up today, as Youngest Son will finally have his first practice as well. All the other attempts at practicing have been rained out, or in the last attempt, it was actually too cold and windy and was called off. Since his practice starts an hour later than Oldest Son's, Hubby and I will be splitting forces tonight. They're actually at two different fields, too, so this could get tricky when I'm in a court term and Hubby is trying to figure out how to get them both where they need to be.

Oldest Son is suffering from "my dad constantly tells me what to do on the baseball field" right now. They both came home from practice last night in miserable moods. Oldest Son later told me it's because Hubby is constantly telling him to watch the pitcher, watch the batter, watch that ball, etc. etc. etc. And Hubby told me Oldest Son is not paying enough attention, and he's doing his best to keep him focused.

Gah! I'm thinking maybe Hubby should let the coaches work on Oldest Son, because he takes their direction much better than his dad's. On the other hand, I also understand Hubby wanting to be so involved with this baseball stuff. His own dad was never involved in his sports activities, and he still resents that. He's determined to be all that his father wasn't, which I find admirable, but Oldest Son isn't appreciating.

Today we find out what everyone's positions will be on Oldest Son's team, and he is scared to death he's going to be an outfielder. I told him outfield is important, too, but he isn't buying that.

**************************************

In dieting news, Cinzel and I both started on the T-Factor Diet yesterday, and we both had successful first days. (Let me tell all her business, too!)

First days are usually dangerous for me, but I was so busy yesterday with other things that it really wasn't difficult. Let's hope today is the same. I am down 2 3/4 pounds this a.m. already, and while I know that kind of momentum will not continue, I'm thrilled with it right now.

The basic premise of the diet is to eat between 20 and 40 grams of fat a day, (30 - 60 for men) and you don't have to count anything but the fat grams. Granted, of course, that you don't eat bags of fat-free jelly beans instead of good food for the rest of the day.

I didn't drink it yesterday because of the afore-mentioned busy-ness, but I did discover that I could still easily incorporate my hazelnut coffee in my day for only two grams of fat, and that made my heart sing. I do so enjoy the coffee on days where I have to work on my computer a lot.

***************************************

In beading news, my creative streak is kaput. Hopefully the shell pendants I ordered a week ago will inspire me anew. I believe they should arrive today sometime. Probably about the time I'm at baseball practice.

I am pleased with my little growing stack of jewelry, though. I pick up each necklace and admire it often. :) They're allllll my favorites.

***************************************

Transcripts. Oh, yeah, that's what I do for a living. Maybe I should go work on them for a little while before I have to take Youngest Son to his dentist appointment.

Over and out.


3 comments so far Kathy - 2006-04-04 10:57:51
For beading inspiration, get yourself on the Sundance catalog. Their jewelry catalog is incredibly amazing! www.sundancecatalog.com
-------------------------------
megan - 2006-04-04 18:14:00
I do remember the days of baseball -- excuse me, LONG summer days of baseball. Hot baseball. Dry baseball. Games played into the wee hours of the morning. Have a good time. My baseball players are grown. Both have girly girls who don't seem very interested in baseball -- well, right now it's T-ball. I love the T-factor 2000 eating plan. Mostly because I don't like fat anyway, that's why I wouldn't do well on the low carb diet thing-y. I really like carbs and I've learned to cook and bake with bare minimal levels of fat. I only eat a real (90% fat free, hold the mayo) hamburger about once a month -- baked potato with fat free Ranch or a salad dressed the same way. Eating in restaurants can be a challenge, unless you find the purse-size pamphlet, T-factor's Guide to Fast Food Restaurants where they give you the best choices plus fat grams. Yeah, I've got to get to work on another transcript too. But not tonight. I'm exhausted from all the child support cases we had today. Lucky me, we've got more of the same tomorrow.
-------------------------------
Holly - 2006-04-04 20:05:07
Congrats on the weight loss!! Good luck!!
-------------------------------

previous // next