Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Goats and food.

2006-04-06
11:46 a.m.

Wow, who knew staying home all day, besides a few occasional trips to the grocery store and baseball practice, would lead to such a boring life? I'm actually perfectly content, but it means I have nothing to write about in this diary.

Yesterday's big news around here: There were 11 goats in my front yard. That's a shocker, huh??? And I have so little to do I had time to stand there and count them.

Then the FedEx man came with my bead order, and the big truck scared them all back across the road. The driver got out asking if they were actually my goats, and I assured him they were indeed my goats, and that he needed to go round them back up and herd them back over to my front yard.

Since we still haven't purchased a riding lawn mower to cut our 1+ acres of rye (isn't is supposed to die? when will it die???) grass, I was enjoying the goats' efforts at lawn maintenance.

A new home is being built on the lot next door. Please let the new owners have some children. Preferably some boys aged 9-10 and 4-5. And if I'm being perfectly honest here, please let them be transplants from somewhere outside of Smalltown. We need someone to hang with, too.

The T-Factor diet is still going very well. We had grilled shrimp kebabs for dinner last night, and they were so good. We also skewered a few with steak tips, and I ate a couple steak tips, but mainly shrimp. When I later looked up the fat gram value of beef, I was astounded. Fifteen grams in 3 1/2 ounces! I didn't eat that much, but man, beef just went way down on my list of fat-friendly foods. I mean I always "knew" it was higher fat, but it is way higher fat.

Question to Megan: What fat-free ranch dressing do you like? I've been working on a bottle of reduced fat ranch, I think it's Wishbone brand, but I still don't really think it tastes too great. Ranch dressing is something I am having trouble finding a good substitute for.

In other food-related news, I am totally hooked on Lean Cuisine's new pannini sandwiches. Very, very good. I don't recommend the beef one (and this was before I found out the beef fat gram factoid mentioned above), but all three of the chicken ones are really very good. I've been eating one every day for lunch (8 to 9 fat grams in each), and thoroughly enjoying them.

Okay, I guess that's all I have to talk about today...goats and food. Sad, huh???

Over and out.


1 comments so far Megan - 2006-04-10 13:01:50
Are your goats young? You must live out in a rural area, like I do. We have cows. Well, actually, now we have several very young calves. They are so cute, too. They play together just like our "human" little tots do, butting heads, crooking their tails and suddenly taking off at a dead run. Sounds like the T-factor is serving you well. In answer to your question, I use Kraft Fat Free Ranch dressing. Sometimes I mix it with with Pace Picante Sauce (half and half) -- just to spice it up a bit. Fat free and sugar free stuff is just an acquired taste, I guess. I also like Kraft Fat Free Thousand Island and Blue Cheese dressing. But if you want to taste a really good salad dressing, try Annies Natural Organic No-Fat Yogurt Dressing with dill. Oh My God! Yum. I also used (in place of butter). It's squeeze-on, nonfat margarine called Smart Squeeze by the makers of Smart Beat. One TBSP has FIVE calories. Don't get me wrong, I still LOVE the taste of real butter and I'd lick it by the spoonful like I used to do with peanut butter, if I still could. But I can't and I know it. Sometimes I just mix half real butter with Smart Squeeze, if I'm feeling really deprived. Hey, it's still only half the fat. Since reading T-factor I've joined the label reading fan club at our local supermarket, and in doing so, I've learned a lot about nutritional values. P.S. I hope your new neighbors end up being families with well-mannered boys... good and friendly.
-------------------------------

previous // next