Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Just to catch up.

2006-01-10
8:01 p.m.

Long time no update. I've been working this week, add the sloooow dial-up internet service we have, and you have a non-updater on your hands.

Things here in Smalltown are settling into place. A retired employee from the courthouse where I work some lives down the road from me, and I found out yesterday he's calling a lot of folks who work there to tell them we've moved in. I'm sure he'll be keeping everyone up to date on our activities. Plus my judge only lives about a mile or two away, and he's commenting on the state of our box situation in our garage. He has no reason to be driving down our road except to be checking us out. Smalltown may be too small for me after all.

Every form of wildlife lives somewhere in the near vicinity of us. The woman who owns the emus (yeah, there's more than one) rode out of her field into the road the other day to ask me if I'd seen any animals out. Well, you gotta tell me just what kind of animal, because God knows there's every kind of animal here. Seems 26 of her goats had gotten out, and she was looking for them. Nope, haven't seen 26 goats. I'd have remembered if I'd seen them wandering around.

Can't remember if I posted this earlier or not, but there's also a wildlife refuge pretty close to us. We can see it from our back porch, and they have lions and tigers there. I haven't seen them yet, but I have heard them. And one of our cats is very, very skittish when she goes outside. I get the feeling she knows she's not in Kansas anymore. Hubby is pretty sure Big Foot is in the area, too.

Childcare problems are already rearing their head. Fortunately my judge was very understanding when I talked to him about them for this term, but I really hope by next term we'll find out that Hubby's schedule works out to where we won't have that problem.

Our house in Charelston still hasn't sold, and it's been on the market for...let's see, officially six days now. Why hasn't it sold, dammit???

Both kids have adjusted really well to their new school and day care, and for that I am thankful. Also, today Hubby went to his new job (though same company) to meet some folks, etc., before he goes to school for the next week and a half, and he had a good feeling, too. I hope he really enjoys it.

The new house is so nice. Yesterday the builder showed up to build the shed, and they've worked on it for the past two days now. We can get some of the stuff out of the garage when that's finished. Wonder what my judge will comment on then. (BTW, Cinzel, he claimed that really wasn't so much his stuff in his garage, but his sister-in-law's stuff. Yeah, right.)

Grizmom called me Sunday night (as she posted in her diary), and we had the best visit. I'm begging her to plan a visit down here next summer sometime. Lizzzygizzzy, Loki-Katt, and Cinzel, y'all feel free to start badgering her for me!

Hey Grizmom, they have caramel cake here! That would be enough to make ME consider a visit. :) I bought a piece today for Hubby, but I made sure it was a big enough piece that he had to share it with me.

We still have lots of chaos in the house, though the boxes are slowly but surely making their way to the back porch. I'm hoping by the end of this three-day weekend we'll have the computers all set up and most everything in place.

Hope everyone is having a great new year so far!

Over and out.


4 comments so far Summer gale - 2006-01-11 14:56:27
It sounds like everything is going as planned. Your old house will sell soon too. Great start to a new year.
-------------------------------
Grizmom - 2006-01-11 12:13:31
Smalltown living is really pretty good overall. Yes, everyone knows your business. We call our neighborhood know-it-all Nosey. And when anything's going on, we run ask Nosey - cause she knows! :) And she knows EVERYTHING! Who's dog poops in who's yard, who mowed their yards on what day, who has trash pick up from which company on which day... yeah, everything. And, should the police show up at your house... she'll not only know it, she'll definately pass that word around for ya! :) But, like Fi said, they know you're in trouble before you do and they rally the troops to help out. There's a good good feeling in that. Especially when you have kids and are new to the area. They know if there's a strange car in the neighborhood or if some stranger has been walking the block. They know, and they look out for you and yours. As for the goats.. you'll have to take the good with the bad. And the CAKE! Save me a piece. I don't know when I'll get there due to the the business trip to NC, college graduation, a wedding and a cruise this year... but, I do want to come! We'll have to work it out somehow!
-------------------------------
Fi - 2006-01-10 21:03:34
Smalltown living has its drawbacks (like nosiness) but it has its upside too. Those nosy neighbours will know you're in trouble almost before you do and will all rally 'round to help. And the service at shops is personal. All those oldfashioned courtesies that have become rote in modern life still mean something in small towns. Enjoy it, it's so much better than smothering anonymously in a big city. It just takes a little getting used to. (ps you NEVER get used to the stray goats, they ALWAYS piss you off)
-------------------------------
chocolate chaos - 2006-01-11 07:50:20
ummm yea, around here, no one uses their signal lights on their cars, cause everyone knows where they are going and why. you will find its probably like that there, too. just dont piss anyone off, or word will get around!
-------------------------------

previous // next