Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Soccer and Survivor

2007-09-29
9:00 p.m.

We had a regular soccerpalooza scheduled here today, with two games for Youngest Son (who was new and improved, WITH shin guards!) and one game in between those two for Oldest Son (who played his heart out today, and was so pleased with himself).

YS cut his day short, though, by running off the field to throw up during his first game. That's one way to get out of your second game, isn't it?

Tonight he's running fever and lethargic. Now y'all know YS runs me to my last ragged bone most days, but I hate seeing him like this, too. He's laid out asleep across an armchair right now. The same armchair he's spent a good bit of the afternoon in, napping off and on.

Why can't there be a happy medium button on him???? Is it too much to ask that he be healthy and calm once in a while?

***************************************

Both boys' teams won their games today, and I was noticing how different their coaches are. OS's coach, though encouraging, is much more serious, and goes through the whole routine of what they did well and poorly and how they'll improve next week.

YS's coach was so completely amazed and flabbergasted and tickled and thrilled that they won that he was practically jumping around like a six-year-old himself. He is so infectious, you can't help but laugh and get caught up in his enthusiasm, too.

Tonight I was telling Hubby about them, and we agreed they were both the perfect coaches for the age groups they're coaching.

And then I said I think YS's coach could convince and coach ME into playing soccer, and I am NOT (and never have been) soccer material, lemme tell you!

***************************************

Talked to my mom this afternoon, and she's now afraid she won't be in her house until after Christmas. Man, I hope she's wrong about that. She's pretty down about that right now, though. Lots of folks in her neighborhood are getting back into their houses now, and she wants to, too.

I know the season isn't over yet, but at least the biggest danger period for hurricane season this year has about passed, and she won't have that worry.

***************************************

In Survivor news, I was so happy that the wrestler girl went home this week. I thought she was lazy and a troublemaker, but that pierced lip thing just skeeved me out every time her face showed up on the screen. I really couldn't pay attention to what she was saying for the staring at those rings.

I think both leaders on that team -- can't remember the guy's name, and PG, the Chinese lady, won't be staying too much longer themselves. And then that tribe'll be in a world of hurt.

Right now I'm really liking the girl from SC (Jamie?) and the black guy from Louisiana..(James?). So early on, I can't remember their names.

Over and out.


0 comments so far

previous // next