Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Clean up? Waaaaahhhh!

2007-09-28
10:04 a.m.

Youngest Son had to go to soccer last night with no shin guards, because they have, poof, vanished. Not in any vehicle (a favorite of both sons is to remove them on the way home), not in his room, not in the laundry. Nada.

In my frustration over the MIA shin guards, I told both boys, on the way to practice, that we were cleaning up this house tomorrow, and that their rooms were especially targeted.

Youngest Son couldn't have cared less about not having his shin guards, but a few minutes into practice he started bawling. When I called him to the sidelines to ask him what's up, he started sobbing becase, "you said we have to clean up the house."

This makes me giggle even today. File that away as another story to tell his prom date someday.

***************************************

Both kids are out of school today for a teacher's workshop, and it is an absolutely gorgeous day. Must get them outside some, away from the vapors of the electronics inside.

Thank you for all the suggestions for games to play. I'll be using them soon, as we seem to only last a few days at a time on a game before we start looking for something else to play.

My5cents, my mom spent hours doing jigsaw puzzles with me, and to this day I adore them. Both kids like them, too, so I need to get one of those put up in their rooms, where the cats are shut out. Cats + jigsaw puzzles = disaster.

Having a puzzle laid out is like crack to me, though. I cannot do the thousand things I need to do in a day if I know there's an unifinished puzzle somewhere waiting to be done. I know, it's a sickness.

One game I found at the store yesterday the kids are excited about is bingo. It was cheap, too. I think it was $9.49, close to that, for the little metal ball spinner, cards, marker chips, everything, at Wa-Mart. We'll be playing some bingo tonight, baby! I'd love to run and pick up some cheesy prizes from the dollar store.

***************************************

Anybody here do the Flylady thing? I get her e-mails, and don't near do even probably a tenth of them, but when I'm out of term sometimes I try to do the daily suggestion ones.

Today's super fling thing is to give yourself 15 minutes and clean out your dresser. Man, do I need to do that. I may have to join in on this one. I've got probably 25 pairs of socks I don't like, pajamas I don't like, etc., all clogging up drawers.

Over and out.


3 comments so far Heather - 2007-09-28 12:48:20
Oh yeah, Bingo, how did I forget that one? That's another one Booger loves to play. Last Christmas we found this Dora the Explorer game box thing. The top is a checkerboard, and inside the drawer is all the pieces for Checkers, plus Dominoes, Bingo pieces & boards, and four card games -Go Fish, Old Maid, Crazy 8s and Memory.
-------------------------------
boom boom - 2007-09-28 13:24:13
i love jigsaws... you are right, hard to do anything else but the puzzle! my cats love to slide around on the pieces....
-------------------------------
terri - 2007-09-28 17:31:01
I do flylady too but I have stopped the e-mails....got too tired of being reminded that I wasn't doing all the stuff. It is so worthwhile though taking even 15 minutes to clean up something...amazing how much you can get rid of in such a short amount of time. Guess I should get back to following her suggestions.
-------------------------------

previous // next