Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Breakfast for dinner.

2007-09-26
9:50 p.m.

Ahhh. My favorite time of the day: When the kids are in bed for the night.

Unfortunately, I have plenty I need to do still, but I decided to come in the office and write an entry instead. The dishes and clothes and picking up can wait a little longer.

***************************************

We've been trying to play a game with the kids every evening after dinner this week. Since we've played Whoonu (a great game, I highly recommend it) three nights in a row, we're starting to get all kinds of repeats in the cards. Tonight I decided a good game of checkers would be a good idea.

Oldest Son and I played the first game, then Youngest Son and I. Anyone notice all the extra grays I'm sporting now? That's from trying to teach my six-year-old how to play checkers. Aye yi yi. That takes some serious patience.

Hubby and I rounded off in the next match, and I saw a whole new side of Hubby. An aggressive checker player, for sure. He was very well on his way to beating me, but had to leave for work. Phhew. :)

We were playing on a little travel set I'd bought some time ago, but I think I need to pick up a regular checker game, one a little sturdier than this one that folds up in about eight folds and has tiny pieces.

Anyone else have any good suggestions for a game Youngest Son could play, too (i.e. not a whole lot of reading yet) and have a sometimes chance of winning? I was thinking of Old Maid and Dominoes tonight, as I was putting them to bed. We have at various times had those, but don't have any right now.

Of course we could do the Chutes & Ladders and Candyland, etc., but then Oldest Son wouldn't play, I know.

I'd love to hear y'all's favorites.

***************************************

Thanks to everyone for the nosebleed comments. I never thought they were all that unusual a thing when OS started getting them, since I'd had them as a kid, but believe me, a whole lot of folks act mighty alarmed when it happens.

Now since YS is getting them, I'm an old pro at them, but I see the nervousness of others again. Like his teachers the other day.

Oldest Son has had some in the fall, but his are much more likely to appear in the spring, right around baseball season, much to his dismay. Every year I'm trying to get him to slip a few Kleenex just into the strap of his baseball mitt, in case his nose bleeds.

He never sees that as a good idea, and thinks I'm crazy as a loon for even suggesting it. And yes, he has had to come off the field and sit out for them, too. Blood doesn't come out of white baseball pants too much better than red clay does.

***************************************

I've been avoiding the grocery store this week. Man, I hate the duty cooking that has to be done every evening.

Tonight we had breakfast for dinner: Eggs, homemade hash browns, toast, ham, grits, and orange juice. See that "homemade" before hash browns? That's how bad I didn't want to go to the store. Next time I'll go buy some, because those sucked.

The kids adore breakfast for dinner, and I don't mind it myself once in a while. They're already pushing for waffles for dinner tomorrow night. And since it's a double-header soccer night, they might just be accommodated.

***************************************

Guess I'd better actually go clean that kitchen now.

Over and out.


6 comments so far Heather - 2007-09-27 08:17:52
Old Maid is easy as shit, it's the kind of game that's purely about luck rather than skill. Booger loves that game. Go Fish is easy to catch on to as well. She also really likes playing Memory and Sorry. (She's a pretty mean Checkers player as well.) She also likes this annoying fishing game, I can't remember what it's called. This battery operated thing spins around and fish open and close their mouths. You have to get a fishing pole in their mouths and pull out as many fish as quickly as you can.
-------------------------------
boom boom - 2007-09-27 12:11:36
theres always uno and racko... both only require number knowledge.... they are fun, and more luck than anything else
-------------------------------
terri - 2007-09-27 14:49:38
I was going to suggest Uno also and maybe Yahtzee? Or how about putting jigsaw puzzles together? it takes a little time and might take up 2 or 3 evenings. And you can usually find some on sale every few months.
-------------------------------
webmiss - 2007-09-27 21:02:14
Uno would be a good one. Crazy 8's as well. I did know a card game called SNAP, and there's one I saw at my daughters preschool called Sandwich I think? It had pictures of sandwich makings instead of numbers. For the cooking thing, do you have a crockpot? I love my crockpot and can make some really wonderful meals in it. Just throw the ingredients in, turn it on, and walk away!
-------------------------------
Holly - 2007-09-27 21:25:51
My son loved Go Fish and UNO or Skipbo. Trouble is usually pretty simple too, or concentration {played with regular playing cards}. Or a really simple game like slap, though that has a tendency to get out of hand with some kids. Connect Four is pretty simple too, if he already understands the concept of tic tac Toe and it would be easy to give him an edge until he gets better at it.
-------------------------------
loki-katt - 2007-09-29 22:21:04
I seem to remember someone who would skip Freshman English class to sharpen her UNO skills. You should get the boys interested! :-) Cootie is a fun one (tho OS may feel it's too childish for him) and monopoly JR isn't too bad (at least it ends). Trouble, headache, yhatzee, we used to have a bowling game that was played with dice, checkers, backgammon (probably a bit much for YS yet), puzzles (hmmm...still got your stash of the Hallmark ones?). If you can find it anymore, Ants in the Pants was one I always enjoyed.
-------------------------------

previous // next