Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Hi, I'm Grumpy. Nice to meet you.

2007-09-24
10:34 p.m.

Stop the mom-wheel, I want off. Today's just been one of those days that drive you insane with the neediness of everyone.

As I was on my way to the next town to ferrett out some information about a transcript, I received a call from the elementary school. Youngest Son had had a nosebleed and needed a change of clothes. I turned around immediately, of course, and went home and then to the school. His clothing was pretty bloody, too.

This is the first nosebleed he's had, and it scared him a little, I think, but it really seemed to freak out his teachers. I told them my oldest son gets them, too, and that the pediatrician seems to think they're allergy-related** for OS, so I'm sure he'd tell me the same for YS. YS, I think, thought it was more cool than scary, since he's seen OS get plenty of attention while we try to get them stopped. Plus he got to miss music, and that was okay with him.

(I had nosebleeds when I was young, too, but they had mostly stopped by the time I was a teenager, and rarely but occasionally have had one as an adult.

Hubby's family apparently never experienced this, and I swear, my MIL always acts so shocked every single time they have a nosebleed, like maybe their brain is leaking out or something.)

After that I went on to the next town for a somewhat useless dig through the files, stopped at Wal-Mart for a few items, then ran by the optometrist's office. Seems OS used his last pair of contacts without bothering to tell me before this morning, when he had none to wear.

Poor thing, he had to wear his glasses to school today, and was not a happy camper. Tut tut tut. He'll get over it. I did get to pick up a few pairs till his appointment, though, and he put them in as soon as he came home from school.

Tonight OS managed to spill an entire plate of spaghetti and meat sauce into the kitchen floor, YS knocked over a glass of milk onto the table, and not 30 minutes later YS also broke a glass on the kitchen floor before heading to bed, where he didn't stay, because he had another nosebleed.

For now he's got a navy blue towel across his pillowcase and a box of Kleenex in bed with him.

Arrrrggggghhhhhhh!!!!!!!!! And yes, I've cleaned up all those messes, but my kitchen floor really needs some more attention. Too bad for tonight. Everyone has been instructed to wear shoes in the kitchen, even though I've already swept and vacuumed in there. Further cleaning of it will have to wait until tomorrow.

Oh, yes, and the dogs were great help with the spaghetti and meat sauce in the floor.

With all that bitching done, I'm pooped. Maybe tomorrow I'll talk about something exciting, like mopping or laundry.

***************************************

** Both of my kids rub their noses a lot and have that telltale line across the bridge that most allergy sufferers have.

The pediatrician says the nosebleeds come from a.) the constant rubbing and pushing up (thus creating the line) of the nose, which breaks the capillaries, and b.) picking. Both of which they're known to do.

Over and out.


5 comments so far Heather - 2007-09-25 08:52:00
Ahh yes, I used to get nosebleeds constantly when I was a kid, and it was from allergies. When I was a teenager and particularly in the spring, I would get them daily. My nose was so sensitive from all the rubbing and sneezing that sometimes all I had to do was tap my nose and it would bleed. Looking back on it, I'm really pissed my allergies were so bad and my parents didn't really do anything about it. It sucked!!
-------------------------------
terri - 2007-09-25 13:17:36
don't know if it will help but have you tried using saline spray in the nose...couple of squeezes in each nostril a day....? Keeps the tissue from drying out. It helps with my sinus problems so might help with nose bleeds too! and it's safe.
-------------------------------
Holly - 2007-09-25 19:46:44
I've had allergy nose since as long as I can remember. though I never had much trouble with nosebleeds. My son had a few though, usually when it was really dry and he'd be picking at his nose. We found a little petroleum jelly seemed to help {used a cotton swab}. I've also learned to not push up on my nose {much} when my allergies are acting up.
-------------------------------
webmiss - 2007-09-25 21:53:14
Hi, thank you for the comment you left on my site. Is the air where you live quite dry? I get nosebleeds in extremely dry climates, or when the temps drop very low.
-------------------------------
Joan - 2007-09-26 19:07:35
My son gets horrible nosebleeds - so bad that once I suggested he use a tampon in his nose - he was not amused. We finally ended up getting one nostril cauterized (for a minute I couldn't think of the word - I almost said circumcised) and now the other nostril does all of the bleeding. I took him to an ENT for the cauterization.
-------------------------------

previous // next