Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

A Fine Day

2007-09-22
8:28 p.m.

I have put the capital murder transcript down today, and it feels like sucking in huge breaths of fresh air after being locked in a hot room all day.

The main reason I decided to put it aside for a little while was I sat and figured out how much I'd mindlessly eaten all day yesterday while editing. It was staggering, folks. Just staggering.

***************************************

This morning we had to leave bright and early for a soccer game for Oldest Son, which nobody wanted to get up early for, but especially OS. He ended up playing very well, and can and will run just fine when he needs to.

OS has entered a very lazy stage in his life, and I so see shades of my nephew in him. Shades I don't like, but shades I know I had, too. So even though he really didn't want to play soccer this year, I strongly encouraged it, because it's good for him. This will be the last year he'll be able to play for the local park league anyway.

***************************************

After soccer we came back home and vegged for a while, and then headed to the mall. We got a notification from the scool last week that free eye screenings were being done by one of the local optometrists at the mall today. In fact, it's the same optometrist we use for OS, and he's due to go in next month.

Turns out it wasn't all that much of a screening...Youngest Son may have astigmatism (which OS has) or it may just be the shape of his eye. But if you'll make an appointment for him and bring him in, we'll be better able to tell.

I actually had an appointment at the same clinic for YS a few weeks ago, but had to cancel it, due to Hubby's schedule. Now both kids have one next month. I feel sort of bait-and-switched, though.

This morning at the soccer game a dad from the opposing team sprinted out to his son to try to manhandle his boy's glasses back into shape after they'd been stepped on on the field. He came back to the sideline, carrying the very misshapen glasses in his hand, shaking his head.

I just had to tell him I've had the same problem with OS, and the answer is contacts. Turns out he'd been wondering whether his son could handle contacts yet, and we ended up talking quite a while on the issue. It has been a very good thing for OS, and I'm kicking myself for not letting him get them even earlier.

***************************************

This evening I have put my mean mom hat on again (I always keep it handy, just ask my kids) and made the boys help me clean out the garage again, after Hubby left for work.

One thing about Smalltown I find kind of gross is all the spiders we have here. We swept down web after web after web out there tonight, and I'm sure there's still plenty more.

We have plenty of outdoor things for the boys to play on -- scooters, bicycles, basketball goal, swingset, pogo sticks, roller skates, etc. -- but inevitably no one wants to play out there, they'd rather watch TV and play on the computer.

Cleaning up the garage has the same effect as cleaning out their rooms, though. With everything neat and organized again, everything's more fun to play with.

Both boys ended up spending the whole evening out there with me, taking turns riding bikes and scooters while the other one helped me. I suspect tomorrow when I make them get off the TV/computer/video games, there won't be quite as much groaning. Hey, I can hope.

Anybody else have to make their kids go outside to play? Please tell me it's not just mine.

***************************************

While in the mall today, I picked up a new Jodi Picoult book. New to me, anyway. This one is "Vanishing Acts," and I've read a chapter tonight.

Recently I read her book "Plain Truth," which kept my attention, but I was disappointed in the ending. Obviously not too much, though, seeing as how I bought another one today.

Yesterday when Cinzel and I were talking I told her I'd recently read "Why Do I Love These People," by Po Bronson. Oh, my God, that is a good book. It's about 12 to 15 short stories about real families that have faced all sorts of adversity in their lives and how they've handled it. I highly recommend it. Very uplifting and humbling, and just makes you think twice about what everyone goes through in life.

Okay, I've rambled on long enough tonight. Over and out.


1 comments so far Heather - 2007-09-23 08:32:16
My kids aren't quite to that stage of not wanting to go outside anymore, but it's probably their age. If anything I get the opposite problem; they want to go out to play but it's so boiling hot out we end up with bright red cheeks in five minutes and have to stay indoors. (I can not WAIT for cool weather to settle in.) However I remember very well when I got around 11 years old I didn't want to go outside anymore, and it was similar with my siblings and the neighbor kids. I do remember very clearly that television and Nintendo (didn't have a computer then) were all of us' preferred activities! I do get problems sometimes with Booger wanting to watch tv and play on the computer too much, so everyday I have times where there is no tv and computer turned on, period! Oh, the agony when that happens.
-------------------------------

previous // next