Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Random act of kindness.

2007-09-10
2:42 p.m.

This morning I took a stack of transcripts in to the courthouse and then headed over to Hardee's to get a biscuit for myself and Hubby.

When I got up to the window, the lady leaned out and asked me if I knew that man in the truck in front of me. I watched it pulling out of the parking lot...very nondescript, white truck, Alabama plates...no. Then she told me he had just paid for my order. I think I was the recipient of a random act of kindness.

That was so nice, I looked in my rearview mirror to see if there was someone in line behind me, because I was going to pay for their order. Only there wasn't anyone else.

That was just the nicest thing to do, and I can't wait to do it for someone else.

***************************************

I'm finishing an appeal transcript today to bring to the next town Wednesday, and tomorrow morning will be starting a capital murder transcript. My very, very rough guesstimate is 1300 pages. For the next two weeks it'll be the all capital murder all the time channel on my computer. (With the occasional blog reading, of course. Got to have some breaks.)

There will also be frequent breaks to try to return order to my home. When I am in a court term and trying to do soccer practices and homework in the hour or two left in the evenings, well, the house just goes to hell. Something has to give, and housework and laundry is what suffers.

Now it's so bad it's driving me slightly insane, though. Hubby has offered to do the soccer practice tonight, so maybe I can do a little bit while he and the kids are out of the house.

Anyone else feel like doing housework while kids are around is like walking through hip-high water? And I make my kids help, but that becomes a job in itself, too.

***************************************

Last night I took the boys to a birthday party at the skating rink. I was glad we went, because there weren't many kids attending. Granted, it was a bad time, Sunday evening, 5:30 to 7:30, but they were having three kids' parties, and there were maybe 20 kids total.

Both boys delight me on the skating rink. Oldest Son brings his own roller blades, and he is just a natural skater. He rarely falls, skates like a speed demon, and makes it look effortless, all while slapping hands with his friends and watching everyone coming and going.

Youngest Son wears the neon skating rink skates, and while he lacks the coordination Oldest Son has, he makes up for it with determination. He falls often, but scrambles right back up, and would never dream of holding on to the wall.

YS tried his best to get the birthday girl to hold his hand while skating last night, but there was no way she would forego the safety of the wall. Finally he gave up and started trying to figure out how to jump and skate at the same time...and ended up looking like he was jogging in skates.

Anyway, they both had a great time and didn't want to leave when it was over. Need to remember to take them more often, because it's such great exercise and they both love it.

Kids are off the bus now, so gotta post and run.

Over and out.


4 comments so far terri - 2007-09-11 13:31:22
guess I am having a bad day, can't even spell my name correctly...see above. LOL
-------------------------------
Joan - 2007-09-10 20:02:11
I have learned it is impossible to clean the house when kids OR husbands are around...especially because they don't like listening to my "clean the house" Toby Keith CD!
-------------------------------
terro - 2007-09-11 13:30:05
cleaning with others around is like pushing dirt about with a slotted spoon..never works. Good luck in making a dent while the kids and hubby are at practice. Has hubby made any decisions on the new job?
-------------------------------
wannagowest - 2007-09-11 18:16:02
terro - is that like the root or the cards? (Sorry, couldn't resist.)
-------------------------------

previous // next