Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Four dollars each item, four dollars every minute. Can I borrow four dollars?

2007-08-31
8:22 p.m.

My plans to go to Mom's this weekend have been scrapped. Oldest Son has strep throat and is feeling miserable, so he and I have stayed home.

I'd already figured out I kind of needed to work this weekend, too, and had told Mom I wouldn't be coming down till Saturday morning, but this put the final nail in the whole plan.

There are tenative plans made to go in three weekends, though that plan hinges on Hubby's job situation.

***************************************

Hubby and Youngest Son went on to Augusta, and by my accounts should be arriving anytime now. Youngest Son is actually much calmer and easier to parent when his brother isn't along providing static.

I don't think Hubby and Youngest Son have ever gone anywhere together (on a trip, I mean, not just to the grocery, etc.) by themselves, and I think Hubby'll be surprised at how much he enjoys it.

They'll be back Sunday evening, and on Monday afternoon Hubby will leave to head out to the new job site. Tuesday morning he'll tour the plant and meet the other employees and see what he thinks about the place.

We have essentially swapped feelings on this situation now. I'm now totally psyched for him and want him to take the new position ASAP, so he can get out of the one he's in. He's now approaching cautiously, afraid to get his hopes up too much about liking the place.

Either way, we should know more by next week.

***************************************

I stopped in Wal-Mart tonight before coming home. In one hour I spent $238.84, and I see by my receipt I bought 59 items. Obviously it's not scientific, but my theory is I spent $4 every minute I was there. And every item averages out to cost roughly $4, too.

Sure, the dog food was $31.37, but the bell peppers were only .58 each. I'm curious to see if the 4 x 4 theory continues to hold true. I'm trying really hard to go to the store only once a week, but will probably have to make a milk/bread run somewhere around Tuesday.

And damn, these dogs are expensive. Granted, I had let them run out of all the treats but pig ears, and they were almost out of food. Their purchases came in at around $48 total. Of course next week they won't need anything, but it'll be time for the costly cat food, then.

Is this boring or what, how I'm dissecting my grocery bill for you? All in the name of trying to figure out where in the Sam Hill all the money is going.

***************************************

I told Cinzel today, if Hubby takes this new job, he'll be staying very close to Mobile, and the kids and I can spend weekends down there instead sometimes, as well as Spring Break, etc., whenever I'm off.

The thought of occasionally being able to shop at Sam's and Barnes & Noble and Target and their many strip mall friends has me nearly giddy. Told you we have nothing out here in the boonies...I miss civilization sometimes, though I dearly love all of our space.

***************************************

Note to Cinzel: Your favorite ADA wants a motion to suppress hearing you took on a motion day in October 2006 for a trial on Tuesday. Call me when BZ and the boys get on the road and after you calm down. :)

Over and out.


2 comments so far Heather - 2007-09-01 14:59:56
I can't wait until my son is old enough someone can take him on a trip for more than an hour.... So if your husband gets the new position, do you guys have to move, or is it one hell of a commuting situation?
-------------------------------
wannagowest - 2007-09-01 21:21:08
"...and their many strip mall friends." LOL. This is why I don't want to move to a really teeny little town when we move out west. I need my stores and other citified things.
-------------------------------

previous // next