Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Be careful what you wish for.

2007-08-28
10:56 p.m.

Remember an entry or two ago where I mentioned Hubby being offered another job within his company?

We determined we weren't ready to move, so, sorry, but no, and hoped we made the right decision.

The plant manager of that facility called Hubby Monday morning and said he would drive up here and meet with him tonight if Hubby would come and have dinner and talk to him.

I sat down and figured out an outlandish pay raise for him to ask for, figuring out extra expenses for child care we would need when I'm in term and apartment rentals for him there, etc.

Once I came up with that helluva figure, I doubled it, because he'll lose half of any pay raise to extra taxes and retirement. All that figured up to a 50% pay raise.

Then we decided he would ask to work four ten-hour days instead of five eights, so he could be there for four days and home for three days.

Just when we thought we had the pot all sweetened up to impossible, he met with the manager tonight, who didn't flinch at any of it and said the pay and the schedule were do-able.

The way I figure, tonight was going to suck either way. Either he came home bummed out, because he hates the facility he's in now and wants OUT and screwed up by asking too much OR it would suck because they would agree to it all and our lives were fixing to go topsy turvy all over the place. (Hint: I'm becoming my mother, and don't like all this chaaaaaange.)

Negotiations with HR for the final pay start next Tuesday, after he tours the facility and makes his decision. (And I told him to ask for $2,000 more, because he shaved that off of what I told him to ask for, dammit.) Pass the Dramamine. I fear the waves headed our way.

***************************************

In unrelated-to-job news, Oldest Son will be playing the tuba in the sixth grade band. For some reason, this amuses me greatly.

OS is also becoming body/hair/looks conscious, and has just started wearing Axe deodorant/body spray. P-U. That stuff'll hurt you. He also thinks his hair is way too short already, and had approximately three single hairs cut, by my count, at the barber tonight.

Youngest Son, though, left a whole pile of hair there. Remember those Playdo barbershop commercials, where the Playdo hair squeezes all out lickety split? Yeah, YS's hair grows like that, only blonde.

Over and out.


8 comments so far Shear - 2007-08-29 06:30:10
Oh my! My son (he's 10) asked if he could play the harmonica in the band. They said no, so he pointed to the tuba and said I guess I'll try to play that. They're going to try him on everything to see what he can actually play. He also is wearing Axe now and wants to grow his bangs out so he can do the neck-jerk flip to get them out of his eyes. I think our babies are growing up.
-------------------------------
terri - 2007-08-29 11:41:10
Thanks so much for your comments....as for the reason she got mad....suffice to say sexual abuse by family member and she first blamed my mother for not "saving her" and then passed that on to me even though she never told me until she was in her 30s....and I shared a bedroom with her when she said it was happening...????
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2007-08-29 20:34:58
Oh, Man! Damned if you do and damned if you don't! I'm sorry things are looking so tough for you right now. I sure hope it works out well for all of you!
-------------------------------
Holly - 2007-08-29 21:03:02
They all go thru that stinky phase. Luckily they do grow out of it eventually, when their sense of smell returns, and they discover girls don't like to choke on the smell.
-------------------------------
cinzel - 2007-08-29 07:31:06
Holy smokes.
-------------------------------
Heather - 2007-08-29 09:02:19
I must be getting older, or just entirely out of the loop, because I've never heard of Axe before. Sounds like I'm not missing much thought. ;) -I took little Buddy to the barber shop for the first time last week, I'll write an entry about it soon. He was so good! I was shocked.
-------------------------------
Pattypat - 2007-08-29 10:55:39
Yipes! It all works out, but I'm with you on that whole change thing. I know you'll look back and say "What was I worried about?" but it is the time before that that is difficult. I'm saying a prayer.
-------------------------------
terri - 2007-08-29 11:36:40
Wow, I had a friend who was approached about leaving our company, made a hugely ridiculous demand and it was met. She took the job and never regretted it until many years later. (and only because the industry we were in has changed so dramatically) Hope you and your husband can determine if this is a good move. Sounds like they value his work and are willing to meet his demands....why not try it out?
-------------------------------

previous // next