Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

One fine day.

2007-08-24
12:32 a.m.

Today's courtroom antics were highlighted by a defense counsel who absolutely got her come-uppance from my judge.

She, the defense counsel, is quite sure that the court system revolves around her world, and not the other way around, and she lies and concocts the most transparent tales of why she can't handle this case or that case daily.

The old joke how can you tell a lawyer's lying? If his lips are moving. Well, it was written about her.

Both of our judges have been handling her with kid gloves for the last year or so she's been around, but today mine tired of the game and did what he needed to do.

I wanted to stand up and clap and do a hippy hippy shake and high-five the clerk, the bailiffs, and the judge himself and start a conga line. 'Bout damn time.

Do I think she learned anything? Do I think it will change her? No, not really. Eventually no one will want to hire her, because she is very irresponsible, but I'd say it's going to take a long while for that to play out, unforunately.


***************************************

I've been so busy this week that I haven't been getting the mail every evening when I come home, and sometimes check it on my way out in the morning instead. (Hey, it's a very long driveway, and I'm tired at night.)

This morning I checked it and had the most perfect gift ever: A personal, handwritten card from Loki-Katt. Not only did she write me a personal letter, but she included a newspaper clipping picture of someone we went to high school with, too.

Debby, you have no idea how that made my day. And let that be a lesson to the rest of you, too! Send me some snail mail, why don't you?!! I know, I suck at ever sending any to anyone myself...but you could send me some.

***************************************

I had the pleasure of watching from the window this morning as our sons fought in the driveway while waiting for the school bus. What started out as ribbing and poking morphed into shoving and grimacing. Ahhhh, nothing like knowing they love each other, is there? I should have taken a picture for the Christmas card.

Youngest Son is like a buzzing mosquito to Oldest Son, and just never quits. At one point during this morning's match he began smacking OS in the behind with his bookbag over and over until OS finally took it away from him and threw it as far away as he could.

Cracked my ass up...YS absolutely deserved it.

***************************************

I did something today that will tickle Hubby's heart when he learns of it: I bought a pair of reading glasses. For me. The weakest pair sold over the counter, but nevertheless reading glasses.

Often I proofread on a four-pack (four pages printed on one page) so a transcript will be much more convenient to carry around. Yesterday while proofing, I realized I was really having to concentrate too hard to read it.

Last night I printed the remaining unproofed pages onto full pages so I could read them today.

I've noticed the gradual decline only occasionally, like reading a Tylenol bottle to see what dosage one of my kids should get, or reading the nutritional info on a very small package, stuff like that.

Oh, dear, I guess this means I've officially hit middle age, huh? That's okay, I've had the spread and the gray hair for a long time. Guess my eyes are just now catching up.

Gotta hit the sack for another round of courtroom fun tomorrow.

Over and out.


4 comments so far Diane - 2007-08-24 11:07:06
I was 48 when I first realized I needed reading glasses. It sucketh cuz it only gets worse and pretty soon you will need them for everyday work. *cry* My heart bleeds for you, but isn't it nice to see so clear again?
-------------------------------
terri - 2007-08-24 14:22:55
I have worn eyeglasses since 5th grade and even I, noticed when my eyesight worsened as I got older. It really sucketh when bi-focals don't always do the job anymore!.... Guess the dog problems have stopped for now since your boys have time to irritate each other before the bus comes in the morning....LOL!
-------------------------------
Holly - 2007-08-24 20:51:03
I've been nearsighted since I was, but the last few years I can almost see my eyesight go down hill bit by bit. I'm way worse than I ever was at a kid. I would be scared to leave the house without my glasses, I think'd I'd have trouble finding my way home (only a slight exaggeration). So don't feel bad.
-------------------------------
Holly - 2007-08-24 20:51:16
I've been nearsighted since I was ,14 but the last few years I can almost see my eyesight go down hill bit by bit. I'm way worse than I ever was at a kid. I would be scared to leave the house without my glasses, I think'd I'd have trouble finding my way home (only a slight exaggeration). So don't feel bad.
-------------------------------

previous // next