Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

I didn't mention the neighbor's dog not once.

2007-08-22
6:25 p.m.

Today's courtroom fun started early (8:30, so we could take guilty pleas before continuing a trial) and included my judge declaring a mistrial after the third time a witness mentioned the use of a different drug thant what the defendant was being tried for. You can only ask the jury to disregard something so many times before it becomes futile.

My judge was royally ticked, too, at the public defender as well, and by lunch time had his boxers all twisted.

One of the DAs was wanting to try another defendant that was being such a problem in the jail that his orange jumpsuit had been taken away and he was wearing a paper gown. My jaw dropped at that one. I never did find out what sort of trouble he was causing.

***************************************

This week all the probation officers in our county have gone to training class, so the probation officers from our other counties are filling in for them.

One of those probation officers is -- and yes, I tell my husband this often -- so purty. He dresses nice and always smells good, and he's just about the nicest fellow in that courthouse, and I just lurve him.

Today he commented on my pen, and wanted to know where I got it, because he loves that kind and can't find them anymore. I told him it came from the supply closet in the courthouse in his county.

Now I want to go thieve a bunch of them from the supply closet next time we're in that county and present them to him like a bunch of flowers. And blush. :)

***************************************

Hubby and I have been planning a trip to Augusta over Labor Day for a bowling tournament that he's bowled in for the last four years with some friends of ours. After much discussion, we have finally decided that he and the boys will go to Augusta and meet up with our friends while the dogs and I will go south to my mom's that weekend and help her clean out my brother's office.

Mom's getting closer to getting in her house, and now the thought of dealing with my brother's belongings is weighing on her mind. His office will be the hardest to do, because a.) it's the most full room in the house, and b.) it contains so many of his books and mail and personal effects that make it so hard.

We're hoping to get it pretty well cleared out in those two days, and that will be one less worry for her. She also wants to go shopping for some linens, etc., that she'll be needing.

Hubby and the kids will be able to leave much earlier in the day for the 6-hour drive this way, too. We wouldn't have been able to leave until well into the afteroon on that Friday with me going, since I have to work that day. Last year I didn't get off till after 4:00 that day, and we arrived in Augusta at midnight.

***************************************

One of our (or maybe both, I don't know) cats left an offering at our bedroom door this morning: One dead mouse. Guh-ross. Note to self: Thank God the door was closed and she couldn't bring it into our bed. Always close door.

Over and out.


1 comments so far Pattypat - 2007-08-22 22:05:00
I'll be thinking of you and your Mom.
-------------------------------

previous // next