Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

For sale cheap: Slobbery big yellow lab.

2007-08-20
10:02 p.m.

I'm sure much to y'all's dismay at one more dog story, well, the dog issue isn't over.

Before Oldest Son or I could stop him, this morning the neighbor's dog came bounding from where I don't know and absolutely bowled over Youngest Son. Muddied him up and licked him good. Again, right as the bus showed up, but at least the bus driver had the sense to not lay on the damn horn this time.

The mama bear in me wanted to march right down the road to the neighbor's house and raise holy hell, but I didn't. Instead I tucked it up under my hat until this evening, so I could be calm and rational.

The neighbor was very apologetic and wonders why it appears YS is such a good target for the dog. I suggested since YS and his son are almost the same age and size, perhaps he thinks YS loves him like his own son does.

Anyway, I suggested it would work out so well if he would just keep his dog penned up until after 7:30, when the school bus has already run. After that, he can let the dog run, I don't care, but I want my son to be able to wait for the school bus without the fear a big, goofy yellow lab is going to tackle him every morning.

Neighbor man agreed and apologized again. Hopefully this will do the trick.

I am going to try your suggestion, though, Carol, and try to have the dog sit before we give him a treat. OS taught our boxer pups to sit, and they do it beautifully and take treats so gently. Maybe OS can work his magic on this dog.

Speaking of our girls, Daisy and Trixie, they turned a year old last week, and we celebrated by breaking out a can of Alpo (they usually eat dry food) and splitting it between them and singing Happy Birthday for them. The kids loved it, and so did the dogs.

Wannagowest, I am not surprised at your comment somebody was seeking $40,000 for a dog bite. My mom was actually sued about ten years ago for a 12-year-old boy that was bit by her dog.

The boy was playing football with his friends in an empty lot next to Mom's house, and their ball went into Mom's yard. Kid went after it, her dog bit him.

I don't remember how much they were seeking, but her homeowner's insurance paid them $6,000, and it, too, was a very minor bite.

***************************************

First day in court today was filled with all the usual fun. Oh, the stupid things people do.

We had an eighteen-year-old senior, a quarterback for his high school team this year, that stood up and was oh so smug as he plead guilty to stealing a teacher's cell phone and phoning in a bomb threat at his high school last spring.

The judge wiped the smug right off his face when he told him he was off of the football team as of today. He didn't sentence him today, because he plans to wait and sentence this defendant and his co-defendant at the same time, but the quarterback career was to be over today.

Could have heard a pin drop in that courtroom full of defendants waiting to be arraigned.

Looks to be an interesting term.

***************************************

Note to Carol: I would love to have your Bisquick banana nut muffin recipe. I think my Bisquick is younger than my baking poweder. :)

Over and out.


2 comments so far wannagowest - 2007-08-21 11:27:48
$6,000 for getting bit because this kid went into HER yard?? That really burns me up. People are so greedy.
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2007-08-24 09:48:41
Just playing catch up on your diary. I'm sorry the dog drama continues! I so agree with 'wanngowest'. If the kid went into your Mom's yard, how on earth was it her fault?!?
-------------------------------

previous // next