Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Damn dogs. Damn bus driver.

2007-08-13
8:35 a.m.

I've got a rewrite on the old saying "Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned" to "Hell hath no fury like a pissed-off mom."

This morning Oldest Son was at the end of our driveway waiting for the bus, which was coming up the road and in sight already, when Youngest Son ran out to join him.

The neighbor's sheep dogs were in our yard, as was a young yellow lab that now runs with them most of the time, courtesy of another neighbor (one with no fence, too). The yellow lab is young (eight months old, we've since found out) and I'm sure was excited, but it bit Youngest Son on the top of the head and knocked him down as he was running for the bus.

From my vantage point in the house, I didn't see it happen, but I did see Oldest Son's eyes bug out and him fling his backpack and lunch bag to the ground to run and help Youngest Son.

Since I still had my nightgown on, I was hollering out to OS, asking what happened, when the bus driver started laying on the fucking horn at the end of the driveway. Was that really necessary???? I know she's got a schedule, but we're talking a couple minutes at the very most she was waiting, if that.

I don't know if I'm more mad at the dog's owner or the bus driver. Both of them have really got my ire up, I'll tell you.

Hubby made a phone call to the sheep dogs' owner, our neighbor Matt, to find out who owns the yellow lab....grrrrrrrrrrr. I'm sure if I'd have talked to him, I'd have had to include how much I loathe the sheep dogs running wild, too. Matt said he'd talk to the yellow lab's owner...bet that does a world of good.

The school bus driver, I could snatch a knot in her head, too. Hubby thinks I should call the school and complain about her, but I think she would just take it out on the boys. She works in the school office, so I have seen her plenty of times there, as well as I see her fairly often at the convenience store a couple miles up the road. I don't think she is friendly and happy ever. Not that I've seen, anyway.

Oldest Son ran back and collected his belongings and got on the bus this morning, but Youngest Son was crying too much to do that, so I brought him inside to calm him down before driving him to school. I wrote a note to his teacher, too, because I'm sure YS will want to talk about this allllll day with anyone who'll listen.

What a fabulous start to this week, I must say.

Over and out.


5 comments so far Kathy - 2007-08-15 10:26:33
Having had to put out $7,000 to keep the neighbors unleashed dogs away from my kids, this subject is major with me. I don't understand why in the hell people who own dogs assume we want their dogs in our yards, pooping and attacking our children. I'm the one in the neighborhood who captures loose dogs and calls animal control to come and fetch them so at least the owners have to fork over money to get their dogs back. Gads! I hope your son is okay.
-------------------------------
yankee-chick - 2007-08-14 12:06:20
I posted this over in my comments section as well...just so you wouldn't miss it! :) Hey Melanie! I know, I haven't posted in so long over there that you wouldn't know about it, but you are welcome to peep! There is no password. The way it works here is that YOU have to set up a Word Press account (which is no big deal....just create a user name and password. You don't have to actually 'set up' a blog or anything. Then I add your WP address to my "Approved Reader Blog Roll". It would most likely be 'junkmel1.wordpress.com' (if you keep your same user name) for example. Then when you click on it it asks for you to sign in with your user name and password to read it I hope you do it! I'd like to have you over there, buddy!
-------------------------------
wannagowest - 2007-08-13 18:19:59
Wow, I would've been pissed at that bus driver, too. How rude. I mean, the kid just got attacked by a dog, for crying out loud! Is he okay? Hope the bite wasn't serious.
-------------------------------
Holly - 2007-08-13 19:13:36
Let's hope you can find the owner. Did the dog break the skin?? I hope not, otherwise you will really really need to find the owner. Poor kid. I hope you also called animal control, and reported it. I got attacked by a neighbors dog when I was little, he was just playing but he was big enough to scare the crap out of me.
-------------------------------
boom boom - 2007-08-13 13:49:07
mondays.. a necessary evil!
-------------------------------

previous // next