Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Wish I always felt like this...

2007-08-08
10:48 a.m.

All right, everyone's going to call me crazy for this when we're having record-breaking highs right now, and the grass is growing so fast we're having to cut it TWICE A WEEK, and it's even hot in the AC'd house, but I feel fall right around the corner.

It's definitely not because of the temperature, but I swear the sun looks different in the sky or something. Maybe it's just because the house is quiet with the kids at school all day. Whatever it is, I'll take it.

And just as an amusing aside, the dogs were just beside themselves thrilled when the school bus pulled up yesterday afternoon. I didn't realize how much they'd miss the boys when they were gone all day. :)

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

I've had to make myself a list this morning, as I've sat at this computer for a couple hours now while ignoring the growing squalor in the kitchen and the laundry room.

The best way in the world to motivate myself is to make a list, because crossing things off of them tickles my little meter maid heart.

I know this will sound weird to you court reporter types, but all I really want to do right now is edit transcripts. I know! It's like wanting to eat vegetables or exercise or something, huh? It started with the transcribing of plenty of guilty pleas in June just because we needed some extra money, but now it's become a challenge to see just how many pages I can edit in between terms.

Yesterday when I was at the courthouse one of the Assistant DA's asked me to transcribe a guilty plea from the May term, and I found myself annoyed that I didn't already have it done.

I have the same attitude about laundry sometimes. I know this is nuts, but I have two laundry speeds around here: Everybody is fishing around in the dryer, hoping they have a clean pair of underwear in there, or the manic alternative phase where I want to ask Hubby or either son if they're finished wearing what they have on (I know) because I'm doing my LAST LOAD today, and I want to have everything clean.

And don't you fret, the blazing editing will end soon, too, and then I will be whining loudly about how much I haaaaate editing.

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

Speaking of laundry, though, I told Cinzel yesterday, we may have to get a clothesline like she and her husband have.

When we replaced our dryer a few months ago, we went with an electric one, instead of the gas one like we'd had. Now, between the AC running non-stop and the electric dryer, too, our power bill was $297 this month. Ouch!!!!

Besides the fact that it seems like everything but everything is going up (except salaries, of course), maybe hanging out some clothes would make me get up from this computer occasionally.

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

We finally got some new neighbors next door to us, but unforunately they have no kids. Booooooo. We were really hoping somebody with some boys would move in next door.

Over and out.


3 comments so far Fi - 2007-08-12 21:33:53
I am a great list maker. It doesn't help in getting things done at all but I still live in hope
-------------------------------
Joan - 2007-08-09 22:04:52
There is a tree in my backyard whose leaves always turn red before all of the other trees are thinking about it. I looked at it on Sunday - about 10 red leaves - Autumn is coming!
-------------------------------
Heather - 2007-08-08 13:59:09
It's not just you, I've been sensing fall in the air lately as well, even though we're having a major heat wave too and I feel miserable the second I step outside. I have to keep the kids trapped indoors because we all get overheated quickly, even in the evenings. And yet still, there's something about it, probably the angle of the sunlight or something, that feels like a hint of autumn approaching.
-------------------------------

previous // next