Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

I like my water clear.

2007-07-22
3:20 p.m.

The storm we had last Friday was more damaging than we realized. Yesterday morning, in a moment of dumbfoundedness, we discovered we had orangey water.

Since we previously owned a home with some nightmare plumbing problems, a water situation of any kind makes Hubby and I both crazy anxious. Anxious enough that I felt like I needed a cigarette, and I don't smoke. No, of course I didn't have one. We had some Oreos in the pantry, and those worked.

Hubby walked the yard and dug into the flower beds some (while I, uh, supervised and wrung my hands), trying to see where any leak may show. The ground was still so wet it would be impossible to see. Since we have no big shrubs to grow into lines, like one of our previous problems, we fretted about the house settling and damaging a line.

Finally Hubby went to the next-door neighbor's to see if they had orangey water, too. Their water was clear, but the storm had knocked them out of phone service, and they'd been told it'll be Monday before it's restored.

I called the water company and listened all the way through the message to find out the after-hour emergency numbers. I know this probably wasn't an emergency to anyone else, but I was really wanting to at least talk to someone. Lo and behold, one of the weekend contact numbers is OS's friend Brandon's current "stepdad."

He actually was Brandon's stepdad when we moved here, and we were so surprised when they divorced. They're back together again, though not married.

Okay, gossiping aside, I had forgotten he worked for the water company, and was thrilled to feel comfortable calling somebody at home with my problems.

Stepdad told me a house had BURNED DOWN on the next road up from us, about a half mile or so, after being hit by lightning. I was stunned. We had heard a bunch of sirens, but the area between us and the next road is so heavily wooded that we didn't see anything unusual.

Anyway, he says the fire department opened up all sorts of lines, which blasted out some (iron? minerals? I don't remember) into the lines, and it was making its way through our system, and that it should clear up soon. And that more than likely, our neighbors would notice it soon, too.

(Then he went on to complain about Smalltown's water system, and how the board or council or whoever it is better get off their wallets and approve an upgrade before it's too late.)

Sure enough, a few hours later our water was clear. And I feel terrible for the people who lost their house. Here we were bitching about lack of power for a few hours and orangey water, but damn, at least we still HAVE a home.

Over and out.


0 comments so far

previous // next