Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

The sheepdogs again.

2007-07-07
9:21 a.m.

I'm about ready to snatch a knot in my neighbor's head over his dogs. They own the sheepdogs that keep getting into my flower bed. I keep running them off for a couple of reasons. One, they're tromping through my flower bed almost every day, drinking out of our bird bath. Mainly, though, they irritate the fool out of our dogs when they hang around.

We saw the neighbors that own these dogs in the Mexican restaurant a couple weeks ago or so, and they told us they were going to Georgia over July 4th week to pick up their son that was visiting some of his cousins there.

Apparently they just left the dogs outside while they were gone, which actually isn't all that unusual. They're outside all the time. And no, they don't have fences. The dogs roam the area freely all the time.

The neighbor's dad lives about a quarter of a mile from them on the other side. I'm sure he's probably supposed to be looking after the dogs.

For two days now, I've only seen the younger dog. She's a puppy, albeit a big one, and is only about nine or ten months old. I've never seen her without the older dog, and I'm concerned that something has happened to him. She, the puppy, has just about taken up residence on our front porch now, and she's acting so lost, I don't have the heart to make her go.

Last night it was raining, and the poor thing was hunkered down on our front porch, clearly miserable. I didn't want to let her in the house, since she was filthy from being out in the rain (besides the fact our dogs would have gone insane), but instead let her in our garage and offered her some food. Which she gladly scarfed up pronto, before settling in on the rug at the door.

I had put our dogs in their crates so I could do this, because they were going nutso at the garage door. This morning I've let her back out, and though it is still raining, she has disappeared again for now.

I just hope the older sheepdog is safe and dry somewhere. Can't help worrying about him, even though they're a nuisance to our girls.

I am so not one for confrontation on somebody else's dogs, but I think I may have to suck it up and approach them when they get home.

Over and out.


1 comments so far boom boom - 2007-07-07 13:16:56
do you have a county animal shelter you could call? or mention it to a local police officer...
-------------------------------

previous // next