Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Fireworks! Why not stay for the show?

2007-07-04
11:48 p.m.

Hubby, the boys, Brandon (the extra boy we always seem to have now, sweet though he is) and I all went to the Air Base tonight for the fireworks show. It was perfect. Perfect timing, as we only had to wait about 10 minutes for the show to start, perfect fireworks, perfect weather, and perfect parking.

One thing the military is doing well is teaching the soldiers how to park cars. There were hundreds of cars out there, and we were all parked in precision in minimal time. Hubby wondered if some of the soldiers could be convinced to moonlight and handle parking at the Smalltown baseball park. I agree.

We all sat on the runway for the fireworks show, and the boys all liked that. It was a great show, but one thing really mystified me. The show only lasted about 20 minutes, but for the last 15 minutes of it there was a steady stream of cars leaving. They would drive right next to us, their headlights shining in our eyes, so it was a minor annoyance. But what I really wondered, though, is why bother coming if you're going to leave early to beat the crowd?

The planes (or jets, as Oldest Son corrected me) were all parked neatly on a neighboring parking area, and it was so cool to see them all lined up together on our way out of the base.

After leaving the base we headed off to Sonic, and then home, where Hubby and the boys could all shoot some more fireworks. I hung around to watch the prettier ones, but bottle rockets? Eh. I'll come inside. What do 11-year-old boys love more than bottle rockets, though? Not much, I don't think.

***************************************

Oldest Son turns 11 on Saturday, and it's his lucky day, 7/7/07. Next year my brother has one of those lucky birthdays...his will be 8/8/08. I like that. If I make it to 67, I'll have a birthday of 10/20/30.

We're having Brandon (but of course!) over on Friday night instead, because he has to go to his dad's this weekend, and OS really wants him to be there for cake and ice cream.

Sometime around the end of July, after my court term is over, we're going to take a few days and go to either Birmingham or Memphis. We'll stay in a hotel and swim in the pool and just play, and we'll also make sure we go to the Melting Pot for OS's birthday dinner. That's his favorite restaurant (mine, too!).

He chose the hotel and Melting Pot trip (with Brandon invited) over having a birthday party, and I'm really glad he did. Now to figure out what we'll do and where we'll stay.

We had hoped to be able to do it this weekend, or maybe next weekend, but a.) Brandon couldn't go, and b.) we don't really know whether Hubby will be back to work or not.

***************************************

Hubby goes back to the orthopedist tomorrow, as well as back for another blood level check. His blood clot symptoms are better, as long as he wears the TED hose faithfully. When he starts slacking up on wearing them, the swelling begins to return fairly quickly.

***************************************

Youngest Son is about to wear me slab dab out, y'all. He gets up talking, talks all day, and goes to sleep at night talking. He taxes both Hubby and I by just the constant engagement. And if you stop paying attention to what he's saying, well, you better go see what he's doing.

I've dubbed this summer the Summer of Scissors for him. So far he's cut up about a ream of paper into some sort of art project, cut his own hair, and has managed to hoard all four pair of scissors we usually have around the house.

Last weekend we were going to a neighboring town in the truck, and he leaned up from the back seat to ask us if we had a pair of scissors in the console he could use. The hell??? No!!

Nobody is laughing and slapping their thighs more than my brother and my dad, though. I'm sure they're having a rip-roaring gut-busting snorting laugh every day at my expense. Even my mom feels bad now for wishing on me one just like me one day. She says she does, anyway. I think secretly she's laughing behind my back, too. :)

****************************************

I found a new diary last night that is just fascinating. My5Cents has a journal of her grandmother's that she is copying into her journal, as well as adding interesting tidbits. It's about the last five entries or so that she's started this, but I plan to go back and read her other archives, too. If you only have limited time, check out those four or five entries...very interesting.

Over and out.


0 comments so far

previous // next