Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Goldilocks found a chair. And a sofa and a loveseat, too.

2007-07-01
8:05 p.m.

Back from my quick trip to South Louisiana. Mom and I went shopping all day Friday and finally found some furniture she could live with at our fourth city and I don't want to even count what number furniture store.

She chose her fabrics and ordered the sofa, loveseat, two rocker/recliners, two ottomans and two occasional chairs. Yeah, that's all for one room, but it is a huge room that she basically divides into two areas. It should be ready in six weeks, and I just hope her house is ready.

Yesterday we went in search of granite for her countertops. After visiting several closed stores in three different cities, we have come to the conclusion that the granite countertop people are making so much money from Monday to Friday that they don't need to be open on Saturday. Hmmmpph.

We did find two granite stores open, though, and she hemmed and hawed over color selections. She's also got to choose some carpet soon, and we looked at that, too. She made no decisions on granite or carpet, and we went instead in search of a big mirror and table for her foyer area. Found a huge, beatiful mirror and a cute side table, which she bought, but she couldn't make up her mind on a table for under the mirror.

After a quick jaunt into Barnes & Noble, we visited yet another furniture store to look for a bed and chest/dresser, but came up empty.

It was a packed two days, and Mom says she slept most of the afternoon today while I drove home. I knew she was wiped out last night. Not just from the amount of shopping we did, but also from all the decision-making. I started jokingly calling her Goldilocks Friday afternoon, after the umpteenth furniture store.

Somehow in these two days we also managed to fit in a short visit and a meal with my mother-in-law as well.

It was a busy weekend, but it's only fixing to get busier for Mom. We sat down last night and listed all the things she still needs to choose: Linens, pots and pans, dishes, silverware, etc. Just household stuff that you don't think about till you don't have any.

A lot of those items she plans on waiting until she's actually into her home, so as not to have to move them. Hopefully I will be able to go back down there for a few days then.

***************************************

Mom's house is coming along well now, and it is gorgeous. It was a nice house before, but it is going to be so much prettier now, with lots of custom crown molding and custom framing around the windows, etc. I was amazed at how much that added to the appeal of the house.

Terry, the builder, drew out for me how he's going to build her cabinets, and they are going to be heaven. I want some just like they're going to be!! Can't wait to see the finished home.

***************************************

Hubby called me on my way home to tell me that he and the boys were going to meet some friends at a campground near here and grill out. Cool! An hour or two in peace once I got home!

He also told me how he and the boys had cleaned the house while I was gone. I didn't put a whole lot of stock in that statement, because I've been told that before, but honestly, y'all...Okay, this is where I bitch.

They did wash their own dishes, and they did clean the back patio and carry out the garbage. Other than that? Nothing.

Now, since I've been told this sort of thing before, I knew not to expect too much...been disappointed before.

The really sucky part comes in next when Hubby and the boys come home and expect to be praised for "all they did." I am willing to acknowledge they cleaned up their dishes, carried out trash, etc., but there will be no huge praising on my part. That's just basic cleaning up after yourself stuff that is expected.

The next step of this old worn-out rinse-lather-repeat saga is where, when no praise is forthcoming, Hubby sticks his lip out and proclaims next time they will just do n.o.t.h.i.n.g. This is defintely a tired old argument that I hate.

Maybe I'll just gush anyway and insist tomorrow we can *finish* everything. Gah. Hate this. Bitching over.

***************************************

Hope everyone had great weekends!

Over and out.


1 comments so far terri - 2007-07-04 11:48:38
RYC: Thank you so much for your comment and especially that you are enjoying my story. It is true...more the most part...as I said in the first one; I am relying on my ancestors to "tell me" what they would have said. Surprisingly, I made some decisions and wrote them in and then found evidence to support them so...maybe I "am" channeling...LOL! Anyhow, I hope you will continue to read. This has become almost an obsession....I have all of grandmother Josephine's life to continue...it has just begun on my blog and then....there is my mother....
-------------------------------

previous // next