Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Cooking camp graduate.

2007-06-23
9:34 a.m.

To loki-katt, OS would be most happy to drive himself. After all, he's going on 18 right now...can you tell I'm dreading the teen years already? I'm especially dreading the middle school years with him, because his feelings are already tender.

Yesterday was the last day of cooking camp for OS, and he managed to not only cut his left hand, but also burn his right hand. Shades of his mother coming through. The cut is not all that bad, but the burn...ouch. I know it hurts, and he's milking it for all it's worth, too.

He and another camper demonstrated roasted potatoes for the congregation of parents and family members, and they had the fortune of being the first pair to demo. When they slid a tray of just-prepared potatoes into one oven and, with great *drama* from both boys, pulled out a fully-baked tray from another oven, the crowd broke out laughing and clapping. OS rode that wave all night last night.

At the end of the demos, the kids were all presented with 8x10 photos of the whole group, a book of all the recipes they've made this week, as well as their very own apron and chef's hat. OS loved it, and wants to go back next year.

I must say it was a great program, and is run by the most unflappable director/chef (and two assistant chefs) I've ever seen. I watched the director/chef while the kids were all doing their demos yesterday, and she's a person that truly loves her job and loves kids.

Two attorneys I work with often were both there yesterday as well, and it was interesting to see their daughters with them. One of them's daughter goes to the same school and same grade as OS, but she is so much "older" than OS. I think it's true what they say, the girls grow up before the boys. (Cinzel, it is the favorite public defender we both grew to resent last term.)

***************************************

Not much news on the Youngest Son front. He's totally enjoying his summer, and grows more sweet yet more pain in the behind every day, if that's possible. Yesterday afternoon he completely wrapped himself in birthday wrapping paper while I laid on the couch and took a short nap. He never lacks for things to do.

***************************************

Hubby's foot looks almost completely normal again. There's only a little swelling left, and he took off the TED hose in bed last night. He says it is hot, and I'll bet it is. I hate pantyhose with a passion myself, and these are thicker than pantyhose.

He starts therapy on Monday for three days a week. Right now his doctor doesn't want him to shave (because of the Coumadin), and his beard is coming in fully white. I told him at one point he looked like Kenny Rogers, but I'll be glad when he can shave again myself.

As of tomorrow he is eligible for full retirement from his company. No, we still don't know what he plans on doing job wise, whether to stay or seek work elsewhere, but I've reminded him when you don't have kids till you're 40, you don't get to retire at 51.

***************************************

My mom's rebuilt house is rapidly nearing completion, and she has started to get panicky over not having selected any carpet or furniture.

I'm going down Thursday night to visit, and we will shop in New Orleans and Baton Rouge most likely all day Friday and Saturday. And yes, it probably will take that long, because my mom doesn't know what she likes, but she's very clear on what she doesn't like.

I'm looking forward to going, though, and even looking forward to a few hours in the car by myself, where I will have the peace and quiet to rub together a few brain cells and think.

Sunday I'll return home to what I hope will be a still-intact home, since Hubby and the boys and the dogs will be home un-Mom-supervised. :)

***************************************

I'm trying to break free of a total addiction to General Foods International Coffe hazlenut flavor. I'm not kidding when I tell you I've drank it on a most regular basis for 10 years. The reason I remember that is because I know OS was a tiny baby when I discovered it as a mama's-pick-me-up in the afternoons while he napped.

Yesterday I picked up a bag of the Folgers Hazlenut grounds, and I'm drinking a cup of that right now. It's most definitely not GFIC, because I didn't put near all the GFIC amount of sugar in it, but it's pretty good with a couple packs of Splenda.

***************************************

Gotta go do some real work. Over and out.



3 comments so far Carol - 2007-06-24 12:11:57
YES! dread the teen yrs. Nothing is more moody than a teen I think. Glad your hubby is doing lots better. Tell you Mom Hi and enjoy your break from the kids.
-------------------------------
loki-katt - 2007-06-24 23:31:25
Well I'm glad hubby's on the mend. I just can't picture him with a beard...he's had a mustache, but that's it, for as long and I've known him. Now that OS is a certified grad-u-ate of cooking school, you ought to offer him a night to be chief chief with your assistance. He'd probably get a kick out of it and maybe when he gets older it might free you from a night of kitchen drudgery.
-------------------------------
loki-katt - 2007-06-24 23:32:57
OK, that was supposed to be Chief CHEF with your assistance. It's been a loong day.
-------------------------------

previous // next