Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Closing day is over!

2007-06-16
11:40 p.m.

Hubby update: Eh. Today we took off the Ace bandage and put a big band-aid over his knee's incision sites. Then I oh so carefully helped him get the TED hose over his very swollen foot. He tried to wear it yesterday (the TED hose) but it just made his knee hurt too much.

It's hard to tell if the swelling is all that much better or not with the hose on. He says it doesn't feel like it's swollen any less, but we'll see tomorrow when he takes it off for a shower.

This morning I described how swollen it is to Cinzel: It's swollen so much that his toes don't touch the floor. Yeah, it's a very chubby foot.

The orthopedist scheduled him to begin therapy on Monday at 10:00. At 8:00 we will be in the primary care doctor's office instead. I need to go in the appointment with him, because I just gotta hear with my own ears how this is not an emergency situation still. And then I may need to be doctor searching as soon as we leave.

***************************************

I decided today, with all of my medical knowledge gathered together in one neat little pile :), that Hubby needed to get out of the house a little. Since his surgery on June 4th, he's only been out of the house twice. One was when he went to the hospital (and stayed) and one is the day we went to two different doctors' offices.

Tonight we went to Blockbuster and picked new movies, and then he said he felt up to eating out. We went to the local Mexican restaurant for an early dinner, then headed down to Wal-Mart. He remained in the truck, but I got out and shopped through their garden center and picked up two new crape myrtles. One has white blooms, and the other is a dark pink to red.

I think the outing was good for him, and I pray that we see a difference when he takes that TED hose off tomorrow.

***************************************

Today was Oldest Son's closing day in baseball, and it is now officially OVAH! Can I get a hip? And another hip? And a hooray!?

It was hot as a who knows what out there today, and I came home and flopped onto our bed afterwards. Not so much worn out as just heated out. Sapped my energy in a big way.

OS's team came in last in their league, but all the boys seemed to know that already and accepted that very well. I was proud of them.

Their coaches have been extremely fair about making sure everybody got to play every game, and I am impressed with them for that. No doubt some boys are definitely better than others, and I'm sure they would have liked to only play the better or older players, but they didn't. That takes guts for two men to commit to that when they want nothing more than to beat all the other teams so bad it hurts. That commitment alone has made the whole season worth it.

***************************************

In gardening news, I have moved on to phase two of the front flower bed, which all "phase two" means is another section that has to be cleaned out. Again. Sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tonight my butt and legs are so sore from bending over pulling weeds, and I'm counting that as exercise!

BTW, remember a couple entries ago I mentioned my husband is thisclose to being a doctor? He also grew up the only son of an orange farmer, and is pretty sure he is a gardener.

Mind you, he's never done any orange tree maintenance or planting of flowers ever, but he has puhlenty of suggestions from his vantage point on the bench.

Gah. It's going to be a long summer.


4 comments so far wannagowest - 2007-06-17 10:57:20
If something makes you sore, that's definitely counted as exercise. ;)
-------------------------------
Lizzzygizzzy - 2007-06-17 12:11:12
Thanks for the regular updates on your hubby. Ya'll are in my thoughts and prayers for sure. I will be glad when you let us know that the swelling has gone and he is well. Hang in there, friend!
-------------------------------
Lizzzygizzzy - 2007-06-17 12:52:34
Thanks for keeping us updated on your hubby. Ya'll are definately in my thoughts and prayers. I tried to do this "comment" thing earlier and Diaryland considered it spam for some reason. Anyway, hang in there friend. 'Ole Junkman is gonna be OK!
-------------------------------
Megan - 2007-06-18 14:13:11
Your husband's "gardening" knowledge sounds a lot like my son's "gardening" knowledge. He believes he someday wants to grow a vegetable garden. I told him he'd first of all need to learn how to mow the lawn. Your husband is young -- he'll get through this. Maybe it won't be as long a summer as you suspect.
-------------------------------

previous // next