Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Where I've been.

2007-06-10
11:11 p.m.

Had some interesting times 'round here last week. The kind of interesting you can do without.

Hubby had knee surgery last Monday for a torn meniscus. He's had this knee operated on before, and according to the orthopedist he will likely have at least one more operation on it in the future.

Friday afternoon we went to the outpatient radiology clinic at the hospital for an ultrasound because his foot kept swelling. He talked to the doctor about it a couple of days, and it wasn't just godawful swollen, but Hubby's feet just don't swell (unlike his fat wife...hers do). Plus, it was starting to hurt him quite a bit.

Turns out he has a blood clot, and he was admitted to the hospital that night. He's being treated with blood thinners, and has not been allowed out of the bed he was put in Friday afternoon until tonight. Tonight they decided he could get up and take a shower (with knee wrapped and IV hand wrapped...boy was that fun), but then he had to get back in bed.

Depending on his blood test results and another ultrasound, he may be allowed to come home tomorrow (Monday) afternoon. If they're not up to par, it'll probably be Tuesday.

The internet is a bad, bad thing when someone you love has a serious condition. I read one site's information on DVTs and quit. The patient's history didn't end well.

Insetead I've spent my time at home working on my front flower bed. Figured some good hard work would be good for me. And flower bed work suuuuuuuccccckkkkkksssss. For two days all I've done is clean the damn thing out. Again.

After visiting Hubby in the hospital tonight, the kids and I stopped at Wal-Mart and bought some stepping stones. While they swam in the pool, I laid stepping stones. And broke some of them, which made me cuss profusely.

This afternoon our neighbor brought me a muddy tennis shoe, wondering if it was mine. It was. I kicked them off at the front door last night, and the behind-us neighbor's sheep dogs had most likely brought it to his house.

He also wanted to know how Hubby was. While talking to Cinzel today, it occurred to me that the only person here in Smalltown I'd actually told has probably already informed everyone in this town, including my judge. He'd also told my neighbor.

Neighbor man kept telling me this was just so serious, and how much he hated to hear it. And I kept repeating to him that we're lucky, they caught it before it was too late, he'll be fine. And then he told me he could tell me a nightmare about somebody he knew who'd had a blood clot. (Why would he think I would want to hear that????)

I assured him I didn't need to hear any horror stories. In fact, that's why I'm out here in the blazing sun instead of inside in the AC on the internet reading horror stories. And then he went on to tell me anyway about his dad's best friend who just had knee surgery last month and developed a blood clot and died. Well, blow me down, was that not the story I just told you I don't want to hear?

I changed the subject by asking him about his baby, and he had plenty to say about him instead.

***************************************

The doctor told Hubby today that he doesn't want him going back to work for at least a month. This was news he was okay with hearing. He is eligble for full retirement from his company on the 24th of this month. He has not made any definite plans, but he has told me he doesn't want to stay at this facility. Last week we got a projection report from his retirement fund's investment company, and his retirement would be quite good if he waited till he was 65. In my heart, I don't think he'll stay, though. Hope I'm wrong about that.

I fear I will very soon have a visiting mother-in-law and sister-in-law or two. In particular, since Hubby's oldest sister's husband retired, his sister has been ready to travel at the drop of a hat. Usually without her husband. We have been the recipients of two of those visits. While I love my mother-in-law and sister-in-law very much, their visits are most definitely NOT relaxing for me. And I clean like a maniac for a day or two before they come.

*******************************************

In non-health related news, Youngest Son lost his first tooth last night. The tooth fairy has been unable to find said tooth, but did leave $1 under his pillow anyway. No doubt YS will find it one day and put it under his pillow again. Yes, he is like that.

Youngest Son also hit another milestone today: He whacked off a big chunk of his hair. His forehead is really high right in the middle, but he did leave a couple inches of bangs on either side. It is not attractive.

In true YS style, he tells me what he did by asking an affirmative quesion.

Youngest Son: Mom, it's okay that I cut my hair with scissors, isn't it?

This is very, very typical YS behavior. He is going to be a used car salesman or a politician one day, I just know it.

***************************************

Tomorrow night is Oldest Son's last baseball game before closing day. Thank God. Closing day is next Saturday, when they'll play two games during the day in the blistering hot middle of June.

And I will sit in that sun, huddled under my umbrella, and wonder who decided having a closing day where they play two games in the middle of the day in the blistering hot middle of June is a good idea. Because I want to talk to that person.

***************************************

Guess I'll wrap it up, because though there's a lot more bitching left in me, I think it's better for all of us if I just head to bed.

Over and out.


5 comments so far Heather - 2007-06-11 09:25:40
Good god, is your family going to ever get a break?! :( I'm sorry to hear that about your husband, but very relieved it was caught early. That DVT is scary stuff. -- On another note, my Booger is acting wistful and irritated over having not lost any baby teeth yet. Her cousin who is a year younger than her has already lost three. All of Booger's teeth came in late, some of them ridiculously so, so I'm sure she's going to be late in losing them too. I've been trying to explain that to her, but she's still none too thrilled.
-------------------------------
Shear - 2007-06-11 09:34:56
Praying for your hubby's recovery! All kids seem to cut their own hair. Not only did my son do that, he also tried to give "free haircuts" to the kids in kindergarten.
-------------------------------
boom boom - 2007-06-11 12:29:00
time for a buzz cut!
-------------------------------
Carol - 2007-06-11 13:50:34
Hope your hubby is doing well. Glad you caught it early! I know of 3 kids who have cut their hair. The boys you can buzz the girls just learn to look funny till it grows long enough to shape. To FYI everyone toe nail clippers do cut hair.
-------------------------------
Pattypat - 2007-06-11 17:01:28
We're saying a prayer. My Mom had DVT in her 20s (She's 70 now) so they certainly know how to take care of things more now. My former admin also had it in her 40s, and she's going on 10 years without any problems (thank God!) If you have to have health stories, at least have good ones! Congrats on YS first tooth. We found that Andy liked the dollar coins rather than the paper money. Hang in there.
-------------------------------

previous // next