Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

I've got a pocketful of excuses.

2007-04-08
1:32 a.m.

Greetings, my peeps! (an old Easter expression appropriate, since it is now Easter Sunday.)

Still missing in action around here, I know, but I have excuses. A whole pocketful of them, if you will. The main one being I have had SERIOUS computer issues. The kind that had me wringing my hands and walking around at midnight one night hyperventilating, due to about 200 pages worth of work that was *on. my. computer. please, I.worked.on.it.sooo.hard. pretty.please.let.me.get.it.back.*

All the drama aside, I don't know what I'd do without Hubby to help me. He deserves a bunch of credit.

***************************************

Baseball season is in the week-before-the-season-opener frenzy. Two scrimmages and two practice nights this week. Guess where all my free time is being spent. At least a healthy chunk of it, anyway.

Oldest Son's knee is fully healed, and he is well on his way to being the major league catcher he knows he can be. I wish I had his confidence. He doesn't have it in every area of his life, but he's got it about that. He loves to go to practice, and is usually scolding me to hurry up. A stark contrast from the mornings, when we're headed to school.

Youngest Son is on a t-ball team, and is being taken to practice, though I wouldn't say he's doing a whole lot of actual practicing. I see a lot of dirt-angel and dirt-kicking in his season again. And some base-sitting and dandelion-picking, too. And now he tells me baseball is just too hot. A sentiment I heartily agree with, and it's only April.

***************************************

Last week Oldest Son and Youngest Son started a ceramics class for two hours every Wednesday (Wednesday being their short day each week) that will last five weeks. I didn't sign myself up to take it, but after sitting in the coffee shop at the end of that strip mall for about ten or 15 minutes, I figured I'd better go back and check on them.

Good thing I did, as Youngest Son was busy browsing the gift shop downstairs from the ceramic studio. The high-school-aged clerk was watching him wandering around as if she had no idea what to do about this situation.

When I inquired of YS just what he was doing, he told me he was shopping. Back upstairs we went, where Oldest Son and the teacher/store owner were making mosaic stepping stones.

I signed myself up for the class as well, because Oldest Son really enjoyed it, and I need to be there to keep Youngest Son out of debt while OS does his thing.

Youngest Son is making me gray, y'all.
Yesterday he unearthed all of the Easter Bunny surprises, too.

And then Daisy, one of the puppies (they're almost eight months old now!) ate most of a chocolate bunny. Yes, I know, chocolate and dogs. See earlier comment about going gray. Fortunately, she appears to be no worse for the wear, and steady searches for more.

***************************************

Cinzel and I are making jewelry just as fast as we can for the upcoming court reporters convention. Well, she's in a court term, but I have one more week left before I start another.

For the next week, that's basically what I'll be doing, though, is making jewelry. Well, except for doing that one 50-page transcript that's due the week after that. And putting my time in at the baseball field.

See, I'm getting my excuses in here at the end for why I still won't be around much. In fact, on the 16th I start a two-week court term, followed by one week off and then a three-week court term. I'm going to be a busy busy bee court reporter till the end of May.

Hope the Easter Bunny brings you all a solid chocolate bunny, and not one of those hollow ones. Daisy hopes so, too. :)

Over and out.


2 comments so far cinzel - 2007-04-08 10:48:46
First off, "peeps"?? Next you'll be joining in with the bailiffs when you walk into a room..."aaaaall-righty then." Drives.Me.Nuts. And second, you forgot an "excuse." You're waiting on that 110 lb. bead order and you can't be away from the house when the moving truck delivers. Happy Easter, bock, bock!!
-------------------------------
m-lewis - 2007-04-09 14:44:53
When is your spring court reporter's meeting? The non-official court reporter's meeting here in Arkansas is April 21-22. I think it's in Little Rock, but I can't go. I'll go to the one in Texarkana in October. At least the state pays for that one. And as for your chocolate-eating-doggie, did he get the farts after eating the Easter bunny?
-------------------------------

previous // next