Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Home alone.

2007-03-14
7:04 p.m.

I can't believe it's been nine days since I posted. It seems like just yesterday...

Last week I had to finish the court term of one of my co-reporters, and this week I started my own three-week term. I had been ready to go back to work. I honestly don't know what I'm doing with all my time these days when I'm off. Besides cooking and cleaning and laundry and taxiing children, I mean.

***************************************

Hubby and the kids are in Louisiana for a little spring break vacation, and I am H-O-M-E A-L-O-N-E. Sweeeeeeeet. My oldest son is ten years old, and I have never been home alone for even one night by myself since he was born. I could run naked through the house if I wanted to.

***************************************

My project for while the family's gone has been to do our flower beds. It's a huge undertaking, and I'm fat. Hence the baby step system of gardening I'm doing. I've tilled up everything over the past couple days, and tonight I spread and mixed in 17 40-pound bags of top soil. And no, it's not finished, but I am. Tomorrow's another day, although I think it may rain, but then Friday's another day, isn't it?

I'm hoping to have everything ready to plant stuff on Saturday. And then I'll try to figure out what kind of mulch to put down and start that process.

My goal is to have it done by the time Hubby and the boys get back, but I'd be satisfied if I just had stuff at least planted by the time they got back.

Contrary to what I thought, we have more sand than anything in our flower beds (and yard). It actually tilled up easily. I honestly thought we had a lot of clay, but now my untrained eye doesn't think so.

***************************************

My court term for this week and the next two weeks is in a town that has a Mennonite bakery. Their bakery is one of the only places in town to eat lunch, so the past two days I've eaten there.

Monday after work I stopped and bought a loaf of fresh sourdough bread and a loaf of fresh wheat bread. My plan was to make some tuna fish sandwiches, but instead for the last two nights I've just eaten bread and tea. It's just so nice not to have to plan and fix dinner for this week. I'm working hard to dispel the notion that one can't live on bread alone.

***************************************

I took the puppies (they're seven months old now, and weigh 52 and 50 pounds) to be spayed yesterday and picked them up this afternoon.

They were so excited to see me, and they show no signs of ever even being knocked out, besides the stitches. I wish I had their stamina.

***************************************

I'm off to find something besides bread to eat for dinner tonight.

Over and out.


3 comments so far Heather - 2007-03-14 21:35:32
Ohhhhhh house alone! Man, I can not imagine such a thing. I haven't even had a night off from both kids EVER. And a night off from my little guy has been exactly a year. *sigh* I envy you. (btw, just go with pine straw for mulch. It's the cheapest, and I swear it works the best.)
-------------------------------
m-lewis - 2007-03-15 08:27:22
We have a Mennonite bakery here too. A very popular destination for lunch, I might add. Isn't their bread delicious? I'm with you. I could just eat bread and tea. Yum!
-------------------------------
Stephanie - 2007-03-29 07:00:19
My husband is going to visit his family in Canada for several days next week. I am SO looking forward to having the house to myself during the evenings my daughters are at work. Sheer bliss.
-------------------------------

previous // next