Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

We won't turn the porch light off till it burns out.

2007-02-20
10:33 p.m.

The ex-mail carrier across the street has come home. I didn't go ask her where she'd been or tell her that a bunch of folks have been looking for her for about a week.

Note to m-lewis, she's never had any pets that I've seen. Definitely doesn't have a dog, nor have I seen any cats over there. And the goats and the emu in her backyard actually belong to the land-owner.

Thus the porch light experiment lizzzygizzzy had me conducting has ended prematurely. According to Lizzzygizzzy's theory, porch lights actually work longer if you don't ever turn them off. That if you turn them on and off every evening, well, you'll use them up faster than if you just left them on all the time.

Darn the luck, I had to quit counting hours on the neighbor's light.

***************************************

The ENT's office called me today to tell me my allergy test results are back, and they want me to come in and do some skin tests now. My top four allergens are cats, dogs, dust, and mold.

Let's see, in my house I have:
1.) Cats? Check check.
2.) Dogs? Check and check.
3.) Dust? Check check check check check!
4.) Mold? None that I know of, but I should probably eyeball that block of co-jack cheese no one seems to like.

Last time I was there he told me cats are huge allergens for most people, and said if I showed an allergy to them that he would advise me to get rid of them. Or, he jokingly suggested, don't take them to the vet if they get sick.

I think when I go for the skin tests next Tuesday I should bring the cats with me and ask him which one he would like.

No, I am not getting rid of the cats. I may never get another one, but these two will be around for quite some time, I'm sure. Our oldest, Jane, is about six years old, and Queenie is only about ten months. Queenie, however, will be gone if she should decide to pee on Oldest Son's bed again.

***************************************

The boys, dogs, and I made a lightning-fast trip down to my mom's house this weekend. Since baseball starts next month, it'll probably be June before I get back down there again.

We didn't leave till after Oldest Son's basketball game Saturday evening. Well, we actually didn't leave until the mom of his friend that spent the night with us decided to come pick up her son, which was about 5:45. I offered to drop him off at her store, where her daughter was working, but nothing doing, she would come get him.

Consequently, we didn't get to Mom's till almost 11:00 Saturday night. And left Monday about noon. Loki-Katt, I thought about calling y'all to see about meeting y'all at the park or Chuck E. Cheese, but we had such a short visit I didn't see anyone but Mom.

It was a mediocre trip, though, as there was much puke to be cleaned up. Daisy, one of the puppies, threw up twice on the way down and once on the way back. Oldest Son added to the fun by throwing up four times himself. I began to wonder why we even bothered leaving home...

Over and out.


3 comments so far Jenn - 2007-02-21 00:39:28
I actually saw a MythBusters episode about that whole turning the light on&off vs. keeping it on all the time myth. It's not true. Turning a light on or off actually uses a tiny fraction of the amount of electricity and it doesn't affect the actual number of hours of use you get out of it by much.
-------------------------------
m-lewis - 2007-02-21 08:53:55
I'm about to head out of here. Got a civil jury trial today and if I don't get there early, all the parking spaces will be taken. I was thinking about your mail carrier just yesterday when I was home painting a back bedroom. The reason I was thinking about your mail carrier was I remembered how you were talking about the television show, Bewitched and nosy Gladys Kravits. Well, I was thinking about Samantha's magic. I could only twitch my nose, I could have the whole entire bedroom painted. And if I didn't like the color... well, you know, the nose twitch thing -- and zing, it's a whole nother color. How far do you live from your mother anyway? And by the way, I'm probably allergic to cats too, but like you, I'm not about to get rid of them. I WUVE THEM!
-------------------------------
Holly - 2007-02-21 20:26:34
Sounds like my allertgies, dust, mold, pollen, weeds.. guess I shouldn't have been born in a prairie state..
-------------------------------

previous // next