Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

How many of you??

2007-02-07
2:35 p.m.

We have just come home from Oldest Son's parent/teacher conferece. It went fine, didn't learn anything we didn't already know. In fact, it only reinforced what we already knew: Oldest Son is doing fine -- though he could definitely do better -- in everything except math.

And I don't know if any of your parents told y'all this, but I clearly remember my parents telling me when I was a kid and needed math help, "I can't help you. You're doing that new math, and I don't know how to teach you that way." Well, guess what, Oldest Son? He is doing that new math.

Today his teacher showed Hubby and I how they do lattice multiplication and baseball multiplication, and I swear they look like bar napkin tricks to me. Hubby understood them both. (He said, but then he proved it to us by doing one himself. Showoff.)

Last nine weeks OS had a very lackluster report card...Cs in everything except all As in music, PE, art, and in-school something (not sure what that is). I think that's probably the lowest GPA he's ever had. Even his overall reading score was a C, and he's an excellent reader and loves to read.

This nine weeks, after a less than enthusiastic reception from us on his last report card, I'm happy to report he is doing much better. Much better in everything except math. That is still a solid C and going nowhere.

So today, much against his better wishes, we signed him up for twice-a-week tutoring in math.

And he made a 100 on his science fair project, and his teacher thinks it will definitely get in the top tier for the school. Cool.

***************************************

I found a fun site that tells you how many people in the USA have the same name as you . I plugged in my name, and there are four of "me" around the country. There are 10 of Hubby, 17 of Oldest Son, and 21 of Youngest Son. There are 348 of "me" using my maiden name.

***************************************

Off to make good use of the kids' day off from school...There's chores for us to all do around this house. They'll LOVE that!

Hope the weather is as gorgeous for all of you today as it is for us.

Over and out.


2 comments so far loki-katt - 2007-02-07 16:30:10
I remember being a less than stellar math student meself. In fact I was tickled with a C. Of course that was high school too, but even in grade school a B- was as good as an A+. I was looking through my new text today and saw math (HORRORS!) and not the 2+5=6 stuff either. :-( I'm feeling for godson right now!
-------------------------------
m-lewis - 2007-02-07 18:15:01
Yeah. I wish you were here too help me throw away "stuff" too. I guess it's just best to hide my eyes with one hand and chuck the just with the other.
-------------------------------

previous // next