Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Wrapping up the weekend.

2007-01-21
10:52 p.m.

Let me take this moment to express the sadness Hubby and I feel tonight. Our beloved Saints lost. The Superbowl was so close we could see it, and now...it is gone. Booo hooo.

I told Hubby tonight, though, that the only thing worse than them losing tonight would be if they made it to the Superbowl and lost there. We've never had the chance to root for the Saints at the Superbowl, and I suspect that's a good thing, because we'd lose our minds with exhilaration/trepidation/joy/general craziness.

**************************************

Tomorrow I start a two-week court term in Cinzel's city. How can this be????? I have only been off for six weeks or so. I can't go to work, I still have laundry to do! Ah, but off to work I must go.

I've transcribed a lot in my time off, but the last week especially I have settled into slug mode. The only thing that gets me out of that is going back to the courtroom.

***************************************

Next weekend is my nephew's 15th birthday, and we've invited he and my brother to come up here to celebrate. It depends on how things are going at my mom's house whether they can come. Hubby picked out a neat gift for the nephew, and I think he's more excited about it than any kid.

It's a remote-controlled dune buggy that works on paved surfaces or over the open ground. Supposedly it's faster and better than most remote-controlled toys. I wouldn't know, but okay.

***************************************

I talked to Oldest Son about extra loving for Queenie, the Bed Wetting Cat. Understandably, Queenie is not his favorite cat right now, and he wants to show her exactly no love. Right now he's being very cautious to keep his door closed, so we haven't had a repeat sneak attack over the weekend.

***************************************

Saturday between basketball games for both boys, I ran Youngest Son into town for a haircut. After he was through I gave him $2 and told him to give it to his stylist. And then I watched him walk over to her, look at the two dollar bills in his hand, give her one and shove one in his pocket.

There happened to be a lull in the shop right then, and almost everybody either saw it or heard me tell him to give her both dollars, and laughter erupted. He turned bright red and clung to my leg as we walked out to the parking lot.

***************************************

As I mentioned earlier, both boys had basketball games Saturday, and we thoroughly enjoyed watching.

Youngest Son's in a kindergartener league, and just like tee-ball and 5-year-old soccer, kindergarteners playing basketball is a sight to see. When the game first started, all but one boy on YS's team lined up, just like they do in practice, while the other team ran around in circles around them.

Basically only one boy on each team actually knew what they were doing, so they played the game while the rest moved as a roaming clump of boys from one end of the court to the other, running in circles. Most of them, ours included, did a lot of checking to make sure mom and dad were watching them.

YS gives us a thumbs-up every time he looks at us, and pretty soon everybody around us was giving him thumbs-up right back along with us. That made his day.

Oldest Son had a slow start in his game, but scored four points in the second half, and was just pleased as punch with himself. His team won, and he was thrilled.

***************************************

I'll probably be pretty scarce around her for the next two weeks.

Over and out.


0 comments so far

previous // next