Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Damn cat.

2007-01-19
8:24 a.m.

I have just had a come-to-Jesus meeting with one of our cats. Queenie, the kitten (she's about nine months old now) urinated on Oldest Son's bed again sometime last night. That's three times (and maybe four, I'm not sure) now that she's done that, and that's three (or four) TOO MANY for me.

I have used Nature's Miracle (from PetSmart) to soak his linens and his mattress every time, and it seems to work. I can't smell it anymore after I use it, and she's going in different spots every time.

(And the Nature's Miracle gets the stain out of the mattress, too. I was lucky in that neither one of my kids were bedwetters, but I imagine this stuff would work great on a bedwetting child's mattress as well.)

Oldest Son is very sweet to this cat. He loves her, but gives her her space, whereas Youngest Son is more annoying to her. Often Youngest Son picks her up and hugs on her when she clearly doesn't want to be picked up. In fact, Youngest Son has been scratched a lot, but he still loves her. I'm sort of wondering why, then, she chooses OS's bed instead of YS's.

I, on the other hand, don't love her too much anymore. I am really, really, really fed up with this behavior. And the litter box couldn't be cleaner. I've never had a cat that did this, and I'm fresh out of ideas of how to stop it.

We try to keep Oldest Son's bedroom door closed all the time so she can't get in there, but Oldest Son does get up occasionally in the night to go to the bathroom and never remembers to shut his door again then. Or sometimes when he's rushing around in the morning he forgets to close it.

There have been plenty of times the door has been left open that she hasn't done this, so I can't figure out why all of a sudden she'll do it again.

I'm at wit's end what to do with her, except make her an outside cat and not let her in the house, which I really don't want to do.

I'm totally open to comments from you cat-lovers out there.

Over and out.


2 comments so far wannagowest - 2007-01-19 10:05:26
I got a kitten in the spring when I was in the 8th grade. Shortly after that I was home with the kitten every day during the summer, then when I went back to school in the fall...she started peeing on my shoes in my closet. Apparently, she was "pissed" at me being gone suddenly. My husband had a similar thing happen after he went out of town for a few weeks; when he came back, his cat immediately jumped on his bed and peed on his comforter. Perhaps your kitty is upset that your oldest son is back in school after having been home during his Christmas break, and that's why she's peeing on HIS bed. I don't know if this will help, but perhaps your oldest son could spend some time giving this cat some special attention after school or in the evening, so she knows she's still loved. :)
-------------------------------
loki-katt - 2007-01-19 10:09:19
Try wiping out the litter box with house-hold ammonia. It's the smell that attracts them. Nature's Miracle is great stuff, but just because we can't smell it doesn't mean she can't. I've been lucky in that none of my cats have ever used my bed as a litter box (yet).
-------------------------------

previous // next