Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

I got a new look! I feel so pretty!

2006-12-27
2:14 a.m.

After spending a couple hours perusing Diaryland template websites, I finally came across this new one, which I really like. I did mess around with the colors on it, but I love the new look.

(Note to Shear: There's a cute beauty shop design on this site, too. Just click on the "design" link over to the right.)

----------------------------------------

Me messing around with my template here usually means one thing (I mean besides the fact I was bored with my old design) and that is I have a transcript I need to be working on that I'm avoiding. This is true today, too.

Hubby is planning on taking the kids to see Happy Feet tomorrow afternoon, and that will help tremendously. I love having everyone home, but I am really feeling suffocated right now with the need for everyone to just go somewhere and leave me in the peace and quiet of the house for at least a few hours. It makes a world of difference in my attitude when I can get some solitude.

----------------------------------------

I asked for (and ordered and received) the Oprah Anniversary DVD set for Christmas. Hubby and I have watched one DVD per evening the past two evenings, and I am really enjoying them. Surprisingly, Hubby is, too. I recommend them, and I'll happily loan mine to you when we're done.

Tonight I saw the clip about keeping a a gratitude journal (clip from approximately 1997, if I remember right). Oprah attempts to write at least five things for which she is grateful in her journal every day.

That really made me think about doing the same thing. If nothing else, at least it would get me writing every day, but also it would make me open my eyes at how lucky I really am.

I've had a tendency lately to only see the sad and sometimes fearful side of life, and I want very much to snap myself out of it and move forward. To let what will be just be, and quit trying to bend and change things that aren't in my control. Maybe writing the things I am grateful for would help me to let that go.

----------------------------------------

My husband's niece is bipolar, and has apparently been off her medicine again for the last two months. I know that is, unfortunately, a typical thing with this illness, but the results are drastic and sometimes disastrous.

My sister-in-law and brother-in-law are beside themselves trying to figure out a way to get their daughter back under control when she is moving randomly from place to place. Today has been a very wrenching day, and I feel awful for all of them.

----------------------------------------

Tomorrow morning I am headed to the mall for the Bath & Bodyworks after-Christmas sale. I'm hoping to find bottles after bottle of the 3-in-1 twisted peppermint body wash. We are all really enjoying that stuff, and our one bottle is nearly empty now. Must replace!

Over and out.


8 comments so far Heather - 2006-12-27 08:23:17
Oooo, I really like this layout!
-------------------------------
Pattypat - 2006-12-27 08:37:29
I love your new design! Good for you on the gratitude journal. Sounds like a great idea - may I copy it??? Have a wonderful day of quiet and a happy New Year
-------------------------------
m-lewis - 2006-12-27 15:54:30
I like your new look too. The only thing is for some reason, the way it opens on my computer, your "profile" stuff overlaps the words you've written in your diary. I have two more appeals but I will not worry about them this week. Hubby and I are on vacation.
-------------------------------
Holly - 2006-12-27 20:15:55
Love the new layout!! So cool!!
-------------------------------
Summer Gale - 2006-12-27 23:01:56
I've found out how to do comments now so that's working but I don't even see a profile that would overlap your entry. The good news is that nothing overlaps your entry for me :)
-------------------------------
Carol - 2006-12-28 11:31:48
I like it BUT you don't have all your friends listed at the side. This is how I get to Deb.'s page Otherwise it looks really nice.
-------------------------------
wannagowest - 2006-12-28 15:35:59
I tried to email you the other day but it was bounced back. Do me a favor and leave your email address in my comments or email me so I have your address and I'll explain about our move to Kingman (and also tell you the inside joke on the Christmas tree). Thanks!
-------------------------------
joan - 2006-12-29 18:38:40
Love the new design!...but I will miss the feet.
-------------------------------

previous // next