Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Don't drink out of the fountain at the mall.

2006-12-12
10:12 a.m.

Why aren't y'all updating today??? I am busily avoiding all sorts of things I need to do, so have been clicking on Diaryland often, each time hoping someone has updated. Since y'all aren't, I guess I will...

***************************************

We finished our murder trial on Saturday morning. The jury came back with a death penalty sentence. Wow. Hubby has been the unfortunate victim of my trying to figure out how I feel about the death penalty ever since.

One day of the trial two local newspapers ran front page articles carrying a picture of the defendant...with a very bloated-looking yours truly in the background. If you are one of the 500 or so my husband sent or e-mailed a photo or link to, please accept my apologies.

The judge's paralegal even cut out the photo and article and brought it to me Saturday so I could put it in my scrapbook. I don't have a scrapbook, and considered throwing it away in the trash can right beside my desk, but I was afraid she'd see it and get her feelings hurt, so I stuffed it in my purse.

Yesterday, while rummaging around in my purse, I came across it and looked at it again. Upon closer inspection, I see the paralegal has proofread the article and made corrections in red where necessary. Made me laugh out loud.

***************************************

Saturday evening the whole family went to the very small mall in the next town. We took the kids to a new jumper place that had opened in it. You know, those jump houses and huge slides, etc.? They also have pool tables and a snack bar.

Hubby stayed with the kids while I walked down to the bookstore and got a very tasty coffee drink and browsed. After about 45 minutes or so, I went back and let him go walk around the mall.

Big plug for Hubby: He went to Bath & Body Works and bought me a bottle of peppermint body lotion/shampoo stuff and a bottle of gingerbread body lotion/shampoo stuff just because I seemed tired and needed a pick-me-up. Awwww....it was just what I needed, too. Came home and used it and really like the peppermint stuff. Haven't tried the gingerbread yet.

While he was out browsing, Oldest Son and I played a couple games of pool -- (OS is going to LOVE the big Christmas surprise of a pool table/air hockey game table) -- while Youngest Son continued to run around the place like a nut.

Eventually Youngest Son came to me to ask for a drink, because he had tried "that water" and it wasn't very good. "That water" he pointed to was a fountain...one of those kind you can buy at a store like Kirkland's, you know, that you plug in? Has about three or four levels, sits on the floor? They had a couple of them set up around the snack bar area.

I fussed and told him not to ever drink out of those things...they'll make you sick! (I didn't add the "Are You Crazy?" that my dad would have thrown in.) And on Sunday morning, early, YS was running fever and throwing up. I be psychic, huh?

Even though I think that fountain water would lead to maybe diarrhea, instead of fever, there's no convincing YS that it didn't all come from the yukky water. Well, that's probably the best thing he could think, I guess. Bet he never drinks from another fountain in the mall. Thank goodness.

***************************************

It is dreary and rainy and gray here today, which I don't care for. If I was home by myself, had quiet and privacy, I'd like a day like today. But since Hubby and YS are home with me, well, I want some sunshine. Maybe I'll try to get YS to take a nap later...he'll sleep better and longer if it's raining. On second thought, keep the rain coming.

***************************************

Tonight is the first basketball meeting for both boys. I've already elected Hubby to go. YS won't be going, but I may send OS with him, even though it's just a meeting, not a practice.

***************************************

Today is Hubby's and my 14th anniversary. Where does the time go...we didn't do anniversary gifts this year, and often don't. Weekend before last the kids had a sleepover at the school, and we used that evening to go out to eat at a nice restaurant and go to a very cheesy Christmas movie.

Afterwards we went to Applebee's for dessert and coffe, where we saw one of our bailiffs working security. (Cinzel, it's the one you like least in your town.) It was a very nice evening, and something I wish we could do more often.

Hubby did say he plans to stop at Blockbuster and rent "The Devil Wears Prada" for me later today when he has to go into town. I've been wanting to see it ever since it was in the theater, but just couldn't get the time then. Hubby has been watching it and says it's coming out to video stores today.

***************************************

Time for y'all to update...do your part to entertain me, won't you? :)

Over and out.


4 comments so far loki-katt - 2006-12-12 14:39:10
Happy Anniversary! I remembered the date, but damn it doesn't seem like 14 years already!
-------------------------------
m-lewis - 2006-12-12 16:58:00
My husband has been complaining about the dreary weather -- not cold, no rain, certainly no sunshine. Just gray. When I left the courthouse (in another county today) I think it was 69 degrees and the sun is out. Hopefully, by the time he returns home, he'll feel CHEERFUL! The reason I haven't updated -- I'm proofing that damn 520 page transcript and worrying over the two notices of appeal I recenty received in the mail -- that and we have court scheculed every single day from now until Christmas. Oh, woe is me. Come on, cry with me.
-------------------------------
wannagowest - 2006-12-12 18:09:57
Hey, I updated yesterday so quite your whining. :P Happy Anniversary to you and your hubby! Nice that you got to go out and celebrate. I read the book The Devil Wears Prada and saw the movie over the summer and I liked the movie better. Anne Hathaway is such a cutie.
-------------------------------
Joan - 2006-12-12 20:29:15
I bought myself the peppermint bath, body, shampoo thing and the lotion. I LOVE IT! It really does pick me up n the morning. I love that you can wash your hair with the body wash!
-------------------------------

previous // next