Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Kids say the first thing that comes to mind.

2006-11-17
10:34 p.m.

I talked to my half brother again today, and he is coming for Thanksgiving. This makes my heart happy like you wouldn't believe. I really need some family around here. Now the only one dragging her feet in answering is Mom, and Doug plans on calling her and nudging her a little more tomorrow.

The thought of everyone coming made me go out and clean our garage tonight, too. Now that's inspiration, because we had just a narrow path through it that we could walk through when the car was parked in there. Tonight? It is sparkling clean and there's a truckload of junk that needs to go to the dump tomorrow.

Since Hubby never did clean the mess up when he had the chance, I told him he didn't get to make the decisions on what went in that truck, either. Now I need to clean out the shed, but that won't happen before Thursday.

This next part is funny anyway, but it's specifically for you, Loki-Katt and Carol, because you guys know the boy in the picture, too.

While moving some boxes (still packed from the New Orleans to Charleston move, I might add) out there tonight, a picture fell out of one of the boxes. I picked it up to look at it, and I felt the wave of embarrassment pass over me. It was a picture of me and my date for the military ball in high school.

Puberty was kicking us both hard -- pimples, funky hair parted down the middle, I had braces, and my date had the ugliest glasses. He was dressed in his ROTC uniform and had his chest puffed out. We're both smiling like we think we're the king and queen of the dance.

I even had on a yellow dress. That's probably the last time I wore yellow. I grew up in the Oklahoma panhandle and West Texas, where most kids have/had fluoride-stained teeth, and I'm no exception. Yellow is not a good color to wear when you grew up in those parts. Not that you can really see my teeth, what with the braces glinting in the flash, but the adult me chided the teenage me anyway when I saw it tonight. And I remember the shoes I had on, though they're not visible in the photo. They were ugly flat sandals, because I was already a couple inches taller than he was.

(Loki and Carol, just in case you don't remember who it was, it was Danny Morr**.) I hate to type his full name out, because I'm quite sure he is still a big nerd to this day, and is the type that would regularly Google his name.

In short, the picture was just...well, it's just disastrously funny, now that I'm 43. :)

I called Oldest Son to come over and look at the picture, that I had something embarrassing to show him. I told him it was a picture from a dance when I was in high school, and he zipped over to check it out.

His quote: "Oh, wow. Are you the one in the dress?" And then I laughed so hard I nearly wet my pants.

Over and out.


4 comments so far nycme - 2006-11-18 08:44:25
Hey, tried to comment yesterday but got lost, so...Just wanted to add my prayers for your husband's speedy recovery. I hope he's home today in good time and comfortable and pain free enough to enjoy his Thanksgiving. Hooray for you cleaning out the garage!! I love that feeling. Hey, I've got white spots on my teeth from I think antibiotics as a kid, but I've had them bonded over. Not sure if it's the same as the flouride thing...In fact, Younger son has some of those white spots, too, not as bad as mine, from his braces. I guess someday he'll get them covered. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours. I'm doing the whole shebang. Turkey, lamb & meatballs (odd combination but my diverse guests have as diverse food allergies/restrictions/requirements, which makes me forgo the ham and bring out the lamb! Plus some picky eaters who will only eat meatballs (hello mother in law!) :)
-------------------------------
m-lewis - 2006-11-18 16:15:45
Why are you cleaning your garage and shed? Is your company planning to sleep out there? I wish the good fairy would clean my garage. I've been nudging the sawhorses with the front of my car to one side (my husband's side) of the garage hoping he would get the hint. Nope!
-------------------------------
loki-katt - 2006-11-20 09:59:54
Ahhh, yes I remember that dance. At least you have pictures. My date that night, Mr. Blue, didn't want to take them. Your geek turned out OK, he's married and has a couple of kids with another on the way (much to the astonishment of his wife who thought for sure her baby-making days were over). You know his wife as well...the former Ms. Caroll. If I remember right, Danny was in the military for a while but I think he's retired now. Now sure what either of them are doing these days. They still live in the Slidell area and Karen runs into them from time-to-time. Glad to hear hubby's doing better. Men can be such babies when their sick and he's really been through the wringer lately.
-------------------------------
Carol - 2006-11-20 15:03:16
Wow does that bring back alot. I have forgotten so much from High School. Glad your hubby is doing well. Have a Happy Thanksgiving and enjoy your family.
-------------------------------

previous // next