Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Hubby's fine, kids are fine, dogs are fine, I'm fine. Though I'm going stir crazy.

2006-11-15
10:45 p.m.

Hubby had his surgery yesterday, and is doing okay. He had a lot more disc fragments than the surgeon thought there would be, so the surgery took a full two hours. He also told me Hubby will probably still be hurting for a while, because the nerve is very bruised from a.) the fragments, and b.) the surgery itself.

He was only supposed to stay overnight in the hospital, but he is still there tonight. Today he ran some fever, so he was given a bag of antibiotics. Then the doctor didn't make rounds till 6:00 tonight, so Hubby is spending another night.

And that's okay, because I am tired and I know he's being well taken care of there. I will be picking him up tomorrow morning, so my nursing duties will start soon enough.

***************************************

My brother called me this a.m. and tried to back out of Thanksgiving, thinking Hubby and I had too much going on, what with being sick and having surgery. Part of me thought, Oh, Thank God, but the other part of me is so desperate to have some good visiting time with my family I am willing to work night and day to get them here and a meal on the table.

I think my mom may actually come, and she hasn't been here since we moved in. I so bad want her to come visit and stay a couple days. I offered to drive her home or back to Jackson to Randy's house, whichever she prefers. I think even my half brother may be coming, though he hasn't given me a final answer yet.

Either way, I told my brother this morning I will be PISSED if they don't come, because I am in big need of some family cheer up here. When we hung up, he was making plans to bring a fried turkey.

***************************************

The weather here in Smalltown has been awful today, and the puppies would much rather pee inside than get wet, thanks. I do not like this. And my kids aren't much help on the watching them closely, either. Consequently, they've had to spend more time crated today than I would really like.

***************************************

I am so anxious to get back to work next week. I'm looking forward to freeing my mind to just work all day, instead of thinking about what Hubby or the kids or the animals need. Time off is great, but too much of it (when everyone else is home, too) messes with your mind just like not enough. I know, poor me. Feel bad, don't you? :)

Friday I am planning to meet with the other two court reporters in our district for a schedule-planning lunch, and I find I'm really excited about that. Time with people that don't need me to wait on them or help them with their multiplication tables, and I'm pretty sure they're both pretty brushed up on their phonics, too. It'll be a flashcard-free lunch! Plus they're both house-trained! That alone makes them two of my favorite people.

***************************************

To end on a positive note, I'm curious what everyone else is cooking for Thanksgiving dinners for their families. Particularly Pattypat and NYCME, who both make me hungry with their entries all the time.

I usually stay pretty much with the traditional stuff -- turkey/ham, stuffing, mashed potatoes & gravy, broccoli casserole, green bean casserole, etc. -- but I love, love, love to hear what different things people do so I can steal an idea or two. :) Especially desserts.

Over and out.


7 comments so far m-lewis - 2006-11-16 07:53:53
.... they've had to spend more time crated today than I would really like... . Who did? The kids? HA! I know. I know. As you can see, I've been spending too much time in front of this computer screen laughing hysterically at some of the not-well-thought-out questions attorneys often ask. I don't blame you for wanting to get back to work. Sometimes you can be cooped up too long. I'm so glad your husband is out of surgery. However, I know he will be in a great deal of pain for weeks to come. Prepare yourself.
-------------------------------
Fi - 2006-11-16 20:31:35
Good news that all went well with your hubby's op. Hope he is up on his feet again in no time .
-------------------------------
wannagowest - 2006-11-16 21:58:39
My husband and I wanted to try something new for Thanksgiving a couple years ago so we had Chicken Marsala. It was good, but it didn't agree with my husband so we haven't had it again (he's got stomach/intestinal issues). I found the recipe online somewhere. And a dessert that I like to make on holidays is Gorilla Bread (got that one from Food Network website). I'm looking for some new ideas for what to make this year, too.
-------------------------------
Summer Gale - 2006-11-17 07:42:37
I'm happy for your husband and hope the pain subsides quickly. I love NYCME's entries too. Lately she's been doing lots with sweet potatoes. Maybe down south they use them alot but I don't know anyone up here that makes them so I'm going to experiment with them for Thanksgiving
-------------------------------
Holly - 2006-11-17 10:46:25
I hear you on needing company. Am so glad to hear that hubby is fine from surgery. Hope he fully recovers soon.
-------------------------------
Pattypat - 2006-11-17 14:49:40
Keeping you and your hubby in our prayers - hope he has a speedy recovery, and you only have to be a nurse for a bit - just enough for him to appreciate you! Thanks for the shout out on Thanksgiving food. This year, I am only doing the turkey and desserts. I'm a bit flummoxed by the turkey - at home, no problem, but my MIL wants me to bring it already cooked. Can you say food born illness? So for desserts - caramel apple pie which I'll make Wednesday night; and mini-pumpking cheesecakes - very easy: small gingersnap cookies, boxed cheesecake no-bake mix and a can of pumpkin. Use a small muffin tin, line it with muffin papers, put the cookies on the bottom to make a bottom crust, make the no bake mix, fold in 3/4 can of pumpkin and spoon over the cookies. Make at least 24 ahead so the cookies will soften and become a bottom crust. Gets raves every time. Happy Thanksgiving! Hoipe you'll be celebrating everyone's good health!
-------------------------------
skibigsky - 2006-11-17 19:20:08
Glad to hear that the spouse is doing well. It will be a tough several weeks (unfortunately, I've got too much experience with a husband with spine issues), but it sounds like he's through the worst of it. (We're doing the very traditional turkey thing - practice for me, as my MIL and SIL will be in town 3 weeks later for an early Christmas - complete with the dinner. So I want to do a trial run.)
-------------------------------

previous // next