Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Tired, grumpy, and sullen.

2006-10-17
2:50 p.m.

Finally the rain has stopped, and the day is turning out pretty. Which means the dogs can be outside a lot more. Amen.

I did go buy them a bag of Iams puppy food at Wal-Mart last night. And a few more toys and a new bowl and some more treats. It is inSANE how much money one can spend on their pets.

Queenie is being spayed today. She was not a happy camper when I shut her away from the cat food last night, and she was even less thrilled about being stuffed into a carrier this morning.

The kids will be home from school soon, and we'll be leaving immediately to take Oldest Son to his eye doctor appointment. I've agreed if the doctor gives him the okay to try contacts, I'll let him try them. This already feels epensive.

I've spent far too much of the day today trying to get myself motivated to finish something. I have several transcripts that need work, I have laundry to finish, I have rugs that have been cleaned as best I see that need to be rolled up, a dishwasher that needs emptying. And I want to do none of it. I'm tired and grumpy and sullen.

Sounds like it's time to put the ipod on and get to work. Getting some of those things done is the only way I'll get out of this funk.

Over and out.


3 comments so far Megan - 2006-10-17 17:46:01
You would not believe the number of wasps flying around outside my house this afternoon -- and I HATE wasps. I know they are after me; I just know it. And I, too, need to get some things done, like pick up more walnuts and plant tulips and re-fill bird feeders. The bird baths are full, thank goodness, thanks to the gargantuan rains. I got home early today, thanks to good attorneys who know how to perfectly present their case and just move on. P.S.: Poor little Queenie. Give her a soft rub on the head from me.
-------------------------------
Cindy - 2006-10-17 19:01:31
This will perk you up...at least you're not being annoyed by the roaming bailiff!!! Is it rude to shield one's face with your hand while pretending to read a magazine from an asshole who wants to tell you everything he thinks he knows??? I didn't think so. Day two of 12 and it's already bad. Pray.
-------------------------------
Heather - 2006-10-17 23:02:07
-Just got back in town from the mountains today, so I just saw your question in the previous entry. Yes, that was me that trained my dog to do his business in one part of the yard. He wasn't really leash trained exactly. He'd walk if you put one on him, but he'd try and pull and lead the walk. Definitely no leash manners then, but he was good enough to walk him over to his spot. Every single time I let him outside I walked with him to his spot and wouldn't let him go elsewhere. If he didn't do anything at all we'd just stand there for a few, if he did then he got lots of praise and then straight back into the house. I spent a month straight doing that with him and after that I started letting him off leash, and sure enough he'd go right to his spot. Of course he was an adult dog by then, I don't know how much faster or slower it could take puppies. Periodically he goes through phases where if I'm not paying attention to him he'll start to sneak out to other parts of the yard, but if I go back to watching him he gets back on track quickly. It was a total pain in the ass standing there with him for that month, but well worth it. Before that he was killing the grass and shrubs and we were having to shovel dog shit up constantly. Now he goes in a mulch bed under a magnolia tree. No shit on our shoes, no shovelling, just a little pine straw periodically if we start smelling pee in the breeze. Good luck!
-------------------------------

previous // next