Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Hmmm....can't think of a good description.

2006-08-18
11:46 p.m.

Question to Lizzzygizzzy: Are the students in your school encouraged to have food fights? Having just completed stain treating what felt like every stitch of clothing the boys have worn this week, I'm just wondering if that's not what's going on here in Smalltown.

_______________________________________

I've got a few dozen more pages to edit on my last transcript, and tomorrow will be spent proofreading. Yay! (Note to Cinzel: Could you e-mail me a starting page number when you get a chance? And I'll send you some new numbers hopefully tomorrow night, but not later than Sunday morning.)

I really am excited about finishing this job, because I seriously wondered if I'd be able to finish in time to meet the deadline. Hubby has agreed to take the kids out to do something for a few hours tomorrow evening...even better. I may actually get to BEAD something on Sunday. Probably not, but I'm hoping.

Today Hubby went and bought a new zip drive for my computer. The old one has refused to work since we moved, and I've had bunches of files loading up my hard drive. Cleaning those off and categorizing them on three different zips this evening just made my anal retentive heart sooo happy.

This two weeks between terms has flown by, but it's been a really productive time for me. I find myself actually looking forward to starting the new one. I've been cleaning on one room at a time every day this week to count as "exercise" between work, and it's paying off. By the time the boys and I have our pick-up party* Sunday night and I vacuum and dust and clean floors in the den and kitchen, we'll have everything pretty good to go.

_______________________________________

In answer to the queries from my last post:

1.) I lived in Kuala Lumpur from the age of 10 to 12. My dad worked for Exxon, and he was transferred there. I enjoyed it, but I do wish I'd been older. During that stretch we visited a lot of countries in our traveling back and forth from States to Malaysia. I've never counted for real, but I'd guess at least a dozen, and probably more.

I was just telling Cinzel recently, moving to KL was eye-opening for me in a lot of ways, one of them being I recognized what an easy life I had.

And for Fi, at Alleged Wife, my best friend there was Australian. Her dad worked for Quantas, and her mom and my mom became quite good friends, too. My mom actually kept in touch with her mom, but lost her contact information in Hurricane Katrina. Any hope in helping me find them!!? Her parents live in Nord's Wharf, New South Wales.

2.) I was a fried chicken cook at a fast food restaurant for a year while I was in college. Not an exciting job at all, though I did deep fry my hand and spent some time in the emergency room, if you count that exciting.

3.) For those of you that know Grizmom is my cousin and read that she cut off the tips of two fingers working in the deli? You're shaking your heads in amazement, aren't you? She one-upped me, though. I only cut one finger in the deli when I worked there. And I sliced it up the middle, instead of the tip. We have figured out we're both klutzes, and it HAD to have come from that grandmother we share! Oh, she would grimace if she thought we attributed anything negative to her.

_______________________________________

* A "pick-up party" is what I call it. The kids don't actually like this party. In fact, Oldest Son told me not too long ago: Ahhh, Mom! You're the only one that likes that. Hee! Nay, I love the pick-up parties! We start around 6:30 on Sunday night, and everyone has to pick up anything of theirs in the common area of the house, as well as pick up their rooms and put up their laundry. Attendance is NOT optional. It's wonderful...I highly recommend them!

And this party dovetails quite nicely with a new party I now hold at my house, and it's one I hold every night. This one is called the "put dinner on the table" party. This one came about recently as I ferried to and fro the table, putting dinner on one night, and looked into the den at the three useless males in there. Something snapped in my brain, and it said, quite loudly, Self: This is some bullshit, you doing all this.

Now I make everybody get up, turn the TV off, and help. Youngest Son sets the table, Oldest Son is in charge of drinks, Hubby puts on the table and starts dishing out whatever main dish I've cooked, and I get on the vegetables and salad, and voila. We all sit down at the same time, and mama's much happier. And then there's that after-dinner party, the "let's all clear the table and put stuff up" party. We're just some partying fools 'round here! When Hubby inquired about it intially, I told him I was trying to learn...from my mother-in-law's mistakes!

Over and out.


3 comments so far chocolate chaos - 2006-08-19 09:32:39
i cut myself on the slicer once (not paying attention), and with knives several times. deli work is definitely hazardous!!
-------------------------------
skibigsky - 2006-08-19 22:22:20
I don't know anyone who has worked at a deli who HASN'T suffered some sort of sharp-implement disaster. Luckily, my adventure only involved a couple of stitches.
-------------------------------
wannagowest - 2006-08-21 20:45:30
I cut my finger with a tomato/lemon slicer while working at McDonald's in high school and it just would not stop bleeding. After a few minutes they slapped a band-aid on it and made me go back to work, which included sticking my hand into containers of pickles, reconstituted onions, lettuce, etc. to make Big Macs and such. Is that gross or what? I should've sued their asses. I know that can't be legal. And man, did that pickle juice sting!
-------------------------------

previous // next