Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Meanwhile, back to my regularly-scheduled life......

2006-05-06
12:09 a.m.

This court term is O.V.E.R!!! La la la la la la la la la....the Hills are Alive, with the Sound of Music.....

Cinzel reminded me today I have wished this week away since Monday, and it's true, I have. I started telling everyone on Monday morning that after this term, I was O.F.F. for a while. And I smiled. A lot.

By Monday afternoon I had contracted the painfully annoying sinuses/allergies/cold/who-knows-but-it-makes-you-feel-like-crap-all-over crud. Consequently, I have coughed and sneezed and forcefully blown my nose all week. But except for Tuesday, when I really felt bad, I have been smiling through the mucus every day because...oh, did I mention today is my last day (except for June 9) till July 24? I didn't??? (Insert giddy laugh here) It's true!!

Tonight, even when we had a jury out deliberating till 7:30 on the last night of a three-week court term, I was chipper! The county's most annoying bailiff kept trying to pester me into complaining, but nope, not me, you won't hear it come from my mouth, because I Did Not Really Care! Hubby was home and didn't have to leave for work, so I wasn't worried about having to call Cinzel to come take the verdict or finagle some babysitting.

It's been occurring gradually, but during this last week especially, my house has fallen apart. Laundry litters nearly every room, stacks of mail have been left right where the Oldest Son laid them when he carried them in, dishes in the dishwasher are clean, but Hubby hasn't needed any clean dishes to feed our children frozen pizza and McDonald's. (Doesn't that sound like a totally tasty menu? And healthy, too!) And I hear the kitchen floor needs mopped as well. Rumor also has it the bathrooms have seen better days. I think in the next eleven (11) weeks (minus one working day in June) I can get those things back under control.

The down side to having all this free time off is I do have appeals to transcribe. As a matter of fact, I have two in my inbox now, and I am expecting the other three or four guilty verdicts from terms past to arrive any day now, and most likely within a day or two of each other, so that time is ticking on them all. Our late jury tonight also returned two guilty charges, so there's another.

So yeah, I will have plenty of work to do from home, but knowing that I don't have to go to the courthouse or wear pantyhose or makeup every day for the next 11 weeks makes my heart sing.

But don't worry, I'm sure I'll find puh-lenty to complain about around here. Like how I'm going to manage to get both boys to their respective baseball games when they're scheduled on the same night in different towns. Hmmm....this might take more planning than even Hubby and I together can master, with Hubby working nights.

Anyway, expect updates a little more frequently for a while now. :)

Lizzzygizzzy, I am so sorry to hear everything about your new job is making you ache. Might be time to search for a different part-time job though, huh? And I want to hear about your crazy customers there, because I know you've got some!!!

Over and out.


3 comments so far Cindy - 2006-05-06 03:59:35
Pantyhose??!!! What pantyhose?? :)
-------------------------------
Holly - 2006-05-06 06:40:34
Sounds like we both pissed of the same germs. Hope you feel better soon. I'm still trying to catch up with my nose.
-------------------------------
chocolate chaos - 2006-05-06 07:41:19
im so totally jealous!!
-------------------------------

previous // next