Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Baseball double-header.

2006-04-25
10:27 p.m.

Both boys had baseball scrimmages tonight. It was a wonderful night to be out, too. The temperature was perfect and the bugs weren't on the scene. Not tonight, anyway.

Oldest Son struck out twice, so he had a drooping lip while we sat through Youngest Son's game. I know other boys struck out, too, because I saw them, but you'd think Oldest Son is the only boy ever to do that. Especially awful was the fact he did it twice.

While we sat watching Youngest Son's game, I wished the nine- and ten-year-old boys on Oldest Son's team could have the same attitude the little ones do. All the little guys are just truly happy to be out playing, and are pretty oblivious to whether any player is better than another.

The parents at the games are different, too. And yes, some of them are the very same parents at the bigger boys' games, too, but their tones are different. The most common phrase hollered out at the younger boys' games are "Good Job, Buddy!" At Oldest Son's games there are many more directions hollered out...as well as occasional comments about another team's player. Such as "He's too slow to think he can bunt and get to first base" and "You've seen him, he swings at anything. This'll be an easy out!"

I wanted to tell one mom who kept doing it tonight that she's lucky her son is so good, lest parents on the other team say the same things about her child, but I didn't. I sat and watched the game quietly, only waving at my son when he waved at me, so as not to break the mom code and embarrass him. When he looked but didn't wave, I only winked at him.

I cringed at the comments tonight though, because even though none were directed towards my son this game, I know the day will come when they will be. He's fast enough to bunt, but he will swing at most any ball that comes his way that hasn't bounced on the ground first. And if it bounces high enough, well, he'll probably try to hit that, too. Consequently, I think this striking-out thing will continue to plague him.

Ah well, I know it's all part of being a mom, teaching a kid to deal with such things that aren't important in the grand scheme of life. And trying to teach a kid that it really is just a game, believe it or not.

Since I hadn't cooked any dinner earlier, the kids and I stopped at the convenience store after the games. The quick-stop shop is the only place here in Smalltown to buy prepared food such as chicken tenders and deli sandwiches, and everyone at the baseball game had the same idea. And they were actually pretty nasty greasy chicken tenders. I'll be making sure there's some dinner cooked before another double-game night.

I'm off to put some red beans on to cook all night in the crock pot before heading to bed. Cinzel has already warned me I'll most likely be in trial tomorrow.

Over and out.


3 comments so far Fi - 2006-04-26 00:07:42
Pardon the ignorant foreigner but what is the differance between a game and a scrimmage?
-------------------------------
megan - 2006-04-26 09:18:46
As late as we've been getting out of court lately makes me wonder how I ever managed to cook dinner, give bathes, read storybooks, do laundry... on and on. As I read your blog I once again marveled at the energy of mother's with young children.
-------------------------------
Grizmom - 2006-04-26 17:21:15
Speaking from MUCHO experienc-o, having someone taunt your child about anything is sure to set a Mom on the defense. They wonder why parents literally duke it out over childrens sports. Sometimes you just go on overdrive and you lose all control. I never beat anyone but I sure could have! My only advise is to just practice with him. And, just when they think they'll taunt him, he'll belt a good one!
-------------------------------

previous // next