Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

It's official, I have lost the (first) baby weight.

2006-04-11
7:23 a.m.

And the first week's diet results: (Drumroll) 6 1/2 pounds. Ta Da! I've finally lost the baby weight! Okay, the baby that weighed 6 pounds 7 ounces is almost 10 years old, but still, finally, I have lost the baby weight. :) Too bad his brother weighed so, so, so much more that I still have to lose.

This has been amazingly easy to stick with, and even more once I found a recipe for fat free ranch dressing. I'm eating all sorts of fruits and vegetables now, which I used to shun for a brightly colored bag of sugar. And I've still had some sugar, too, but a whole, whole lot less than I had been having.

And six days in, on Sunday, I suddenly had quite a bit more energy than I've had in a long while, too. Yesterday, that energy thing was not there, but that was my own fault.

**************************************

Time for today's rant and rave: My four-year-old had to do a poster about Mississippi last night. And yeah, we've had about two weeks to get this project done, but still, dammit, a FOUR-YEAR-OLD????? We have all sorts of projects to do all the time with Oldest Son, and I really didn't appreciate a "project" for Youngest Son when he's not even in kindergarten yet!

We had the freedom to do whatever we wanted on the poster, and it wasn't until yesterday afternoon that I finally decided we would do a poster of "Insert Youngest Son's Name's Mississippi." We glued on photos of pictures of all of us in places we've been.

And one of the best things about Mississippi is it's next door to Louisiana, where all our family is and where Youngest Son was born.

Then Oldest Son and I tried to "train" Youngest Son to tell everyone about his poster and what all his pictures meant. Like, this is "Smalltown," and I live here. Nope. He doesn't have it down yet. He wants to tell who's in that picture, instead of relate it to a town. Okay, fine. That's going to have to do, because he doesn't get the whole Mississippi thing.

***************************************

And speaking of Oldest Son, his first baseball game is April 29. I asked Hubby last night what time they play that day, a Saturday, and his answer stunned me. All day. Huh? They play three games in one day. Man. I'm going to have one very, very bored four-year-old by the end of that day, and one tired nine-year-old.

***************************************

In answer to Megan's question yesterday: Yes, we do live in a rural area. More rural than I've ever lived in my life, for sure. Oldest Son mentioned wanting to go to the zoo this weekend, and Hubby laughed and told him they don't have zoos up here, they just grow their own. There's emus and goats across the road, horses down the road, cows everywhere, deer that leave tracks in the yard at night, as well as a wildlife refuge that houses lions and tigers and assorted wild cats about 1/4 mile down and across the highway. We often hear the lions roaring in the evenings, which really freaks out the smarter of our two cats.

Over and out.


3 comments so far Megan - 2006-04-11 09:09:27
I am still laughing. "We grow our own (zoo) here." What a perfect line, or is it "lion?" Around here we listen to packs of ?Coyotes yip and howl in the evening. I thought that was eerie enough, but LIONS. We have the occasional opossum, skunk, deer, elk, armadillo, maybe even a black bear -- but no lions (Thank God). I love to read your posts. They make me laugh. Your children sound absolutely precious.
-------------------------------
Megan - 2006-04-11 09:11:47
I forgot -- congratulations on your weight loss. That's just awesome! I'm still on T-factor's maintenance plan, and it's been four years now.
-------------------------------
Cindy - 2006-04-11 10:12:23
Don't forget short, red-headed John...God knows he needs to be caged up!!! :)
-------------------------------

previous // next