Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Good day in Smalltown.

2006-03-31
9:51 a.m.

Last night was another evening of baseball practice for Oldest Son. While he was practicing, Youngest Son and I wandered (well, I wandered, Youngest Son ran like the wind) over to the playground. It was such a gorgeous evening to be out. Warm enough for shorts, but cool enough that it was pleasant to be outside.

I could see Oldest Son's field from the playground, and I watched as Oldest Son hit a pop fly into the outfield, and then I watched Hubby, who was playing outfield, since they were short some players, miss said ball. And I laughed and clapped from afar.

Sitting on the playground made me so thankful for our new life in Smalltown. I spoke with another mother on the playground, sharing mom secrets. Of course, first we had to have the prerequisite conversation of where did we move from and why.

When I tell people we moved to Smalltown, Mississippi from Charleston, SC, without fail the universal reaction is shock. Charleston never felt like home to Hubby or myself, and we have both agreed Smalltown already feels like home.

After he finished practice, Oldest Son came over to the playground to meet us, while Hubby left for his bowling night. Both boys got on the merry-go-round, and I pushed them as fast as my arms could push them, and they both laughed and shrieked. I love it when Oldest Son drops his "cool 9-year-old" mask to let himself play like that with Youngest Son.

Both boys were filthy by the time we got home, and I made them both hit the shower while I got dinner ready and snuck little forbidden treats to the dog.

Nights like last night are the days I think to myself, it really doesn't get much better than this, huh?


3 comments so far Kathy - 2006-03-31 11:24:43
That does sound like a perfect evening!
-------------------------------
Summer Gale - 2006-03-31 13:07:34
That sounds wonderful and brings back memories for me.
-------------------------------
Grizmom - 2006-03-31 19:48:06
Enjoy every minute Prettiest Cousin. They'll soon be grown and gone and these days of pure-hearted bliss will be but a memory. I wish I could freeze this moment in time for you and you could revisit whenever you wanted to.
-------------------------------

previous // next