Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

It's over, and we're all alive and well.

2006-03-20
9:48 a.m.

The in-laws left yesterday morning. As usual, the visit went just fine, and I had a great time as well. By the time they arrived, I had worked myself into the foulest of moods.

I've been feeling quite ashamed of myself for the bitchy mood I've been in this last week, just anticipating their visit. But when my mother-in-law and sister-in-law both felt compelled to do dishes and empty the dishwasher, etc., I just let them do it. Short of my mother-in-law wiping down parts of the inside of my refrigerator, I think we passed muster.

Sister-in-law was a lot more fun to have as a visitor without her husband. I'm sure that's because she's normally afraid of what he will do or say, as he is a very talkative drunk. Both boys had a great time with her, and she spoke a lot with me late one night about her own two children, both grown and with kids of their own. May I learn from her mistakes, because her kids both have problems, and lots of them. Anyway, it's probably the longest I've ever spoken with this particular SIL one on one, and it was both educational and interesting.

On Saturday we visited the birthplace of Elvis Presley and all had a great time. There was even an Elvis impersonator there, which added to the kitsch factor.

After that we went and ate lunch, then split up to drop off Hubby and the boys at Best Buy, while we ladies visited Bed, Bath & Beyond. I found two bed-in-a-bag sets for Oldest Son's new bunk beds, and on sale to boot. It was really nice shopping with MIL and SIL, and Hubby called way sooner than I expected, wanting us to come back and pick them up from Best Buy. He doesn't usually shop with the kids by himself. (Big, big grin.)

I showed MIL and SIL all the jewelry I had made up, and they both selected some (SIL picked out a lot!) for their own use, and also picked some beads for me to make a few items for my youngest SIL. I stayed up really late Saturday night doing that so they'd have them to bring home.

And after they left yesterday morning, I totally crashed for an early nap, Youngest Son with me. It was raining, and it was the most delicious three-hour nap you could imagine.

This morning I got up and got both kids off, and then came home to the furniture folks already at the house, assembling Oldest Son's new bunk beds. He is so excited about them he moved everything around in his room on his own last night, making way for the new beds. Right now the two furniture guys have gone back to their store to retrieve another ladder part, and soon the beds will be done. The new sheet and comforter sets are in various states of washing and drying, so when Oldest Son gets home the beds will be complete. He will be beyond excited. Bet we don't see him the rest of the evening!

*************************************

I stopped writing to go into town with Hubby to eat lunch and go to Wal-Mart. The beds are now done, and I can't wait to see both kids' reactions to them when they get home!

Stopped at the post office, and finally I got a due date letter on an appeal I thought I had, then found out it wasn't due yet due to technicalities. Now that one's out of limbo.

Think I'll go fix a cup of coffee and surf the journals and maybe make a few pairs of earrings.

Over and out.


2 comments so far Jenn - 2006-03-20 18:17:54
Glad you had an okay time with your in-laws. I always get bitchy in anticipation of my in-laws coming around, too. Haha. ♥
-------------------------------
Megan - 2006-03-22 07:39:12
My youngest daughter (kidzpinkcat.diaryland.com) and her husband just got new bunk beds for their sons, ages two and three. I believe they purchased them from Nebraska Furniture Mart in Kansas City. Since I was up there for a week to help take care of the boys and brand new baby brother, I got to see the new bunk beds -- with a slide from top to bottom. How she ever gets them to go to sleep is way beyond me. Anyway, you'll have to let everyone know what you son's reaction was. I haven't had an appeal -- lately. However, I've had several requests from attorneys for full-length transcripts. I don't ask "why" questions as long as I get paid. In fact, I've gotta start on a new one today. He wants it by next week. P.S. Sounds like you and your in-laws had a surprising lot of fun. Personally, I absolutely love mine.
-------------------------------

previous // next