Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Not no steak dinner!!

2006-02-23
12:35 a.m.

I've been in court the last two weeks, which definitely slows the entries down. In fact, I should have myself in bed right now, but self is so defiant. I've been bead shopping, and that keeps me awake at night, wondering what beads to get next.

We had a jury go out at 4:15 this evening, only to have them report at 6:30 or so that they were hopelessly deadlocked. Bless my judge's heart, he sent everybody home to think about it tonight, and they're all to be back at 9:00 in the morning.

I was really worried he was going to make them stay all night, as I was going to have to call Cinzel and ask her if she wanted to come and wait for a verdict or go babysit my kids. Saved by the judge once again.

The judge sent our woman bailiff in to ask the jury if we needed to order dinner for them, and another bailiff was so excited we were possibly going to have to be eating dinner tonight. The last bailiff, who has recently had weight loss surgery, told the woman bailiff to remind the jury that dinner was only hamburgers and cheeseburgers, and "not no steak dinners." Guess since that surgery he's not near as interested in hanging around for dinner now.

Oldest Son has been sick the past two days, but he appears to be on the mend tonight. He's still complaining of a mild headache, but the fever seems to have stopped and the vomiting finally stopped today. This afternoon he even felt up to eating something. Yesterday he had nothing but Sprite. Our court clerk told me tonight her son is sick, too, and that this has a two-day incubation period, what they're passing around. Hope Youngest Son is not working on his two-day plan right now.

Our renovations are very nearly complete. Do you all hear the angels singing??? We're now down to punchlist items, basically, plus a couple inspections.

Once the work on the bathroom project was begun, widening an area, adding a door, etc., they were making such a mess we stopped using that bathroom. There was paint and dust and all kinds of assorted wood chips, etc. everywhere, and I just closed the door. The workers were also using that toilet every day, and they, let me say, are a bunch of piglets. Anyway, I finally went in there to clean it last night and found a huge gouge out of the marble vanity! Now my kids are plenty able at breaking stuff, but I don't think even they could gouge marble. Hubby told the builder about it today, and he took measurements to get another one.

Also, there had to be some wood floor relaid in our hallway, due to door widening, and there was a big chunk of carpet cut out of the adjacent bedroom. Hubby forgot to show that to him, so I plan on sitting down to write out a list before I go to work tomorrow. There's a couple other things, and I want to make sure they're all addressed before the inspections.

I'm headed to bed. Finally. Where I will have visions of vintage lucite beads dancing through my head. :)

Over and out.


0 comments so far

previous // next