Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Shopping at the hardware store.

2006-01-30
8:53 a.m.

In about 15 minutes or so I'm leaving to get my hair cut. That's one of the things I hate about moving, is finding all new doctors, dentists, hairdressers, et al. This lady cuts Cinzel's hair, though, and Cinzel says she's not afraid to cut, so I'm hoping she'll work for me.

The lady I used in Charleston just seemed afraid to cut as much as I wanted. And my hair isn't like 1/2" long or anything, but it is short. I stayed with her, but bringing pictures, magazines, etc., I just never could get her to cut it short enough. This is not intended to be a rant about hairdressers, just a note that I hope I like my haircut, because I sure do need one!

We took an impromptu trip to Jackson yesterday. Late Saturday night Hubby suggested we go down so he could work on my brother's computers and shop at his store. Rarely do I turn down the opportunity to go visit my brother, so we left bright and early yesterday morning and didn't get home till nearly 10:00 last night. Both kids slept some in the van on the drive home, but I bet they both go to bed early tonight.

My brother has a hardware store, and he lets us shop at his cost, which is so nice. I wish he was closer! The damage we could do then!! We bought a dolly, a new hose, some kind of decorative Rubbermaid box to store said hose in near the front porch, and an awesome set of wind chimes. We weren't in the market for the wind chimes, but I loved them.

Also on the front counter I saw jars of honey that one of my brother's customers bottles. My brother sells lots of different odds and ends stuff up there, so I always love to look and see what he's got. Not only did he have the honey, but he had some tubs of spun honey, too. Some people call this honey butter, but it actually has no butter in it, it's pure honey. Put that on hot toast or biscuits, though....mmmmm. So I had to get one of those. Haven't seen that in years, and I couldn't wait to try it this morning. And my honey toast was excellent, too.

I met the lady my brother's been dating recently. She reminds me a whole lot of his late wife. She looks a lot like my sister-in-law, and even the way she talks reminds me of her. My nephew really seems to like her. My niece is polite and friendly, but I sense she's not all that keen on her.

My brother told me after she left that my nephew keeps asking if he's going to marry her. Whoa! No pressure there. He said, though, there's something really holding him back. I think one thing is she has a six-year-old son that is, by her words, pretty hyper, and I don't think my brother is too much wanting to raise more kids.

Running out of time, gotta go.

Over and out.


2 comments so far Jenn - 2006-01-30 12:46:38
I have a hard time finding people that I trust to cut my hair. My aunt usually does it but when she's not available and I have to go to a "real" hairdresser... I usually hate it. I hope the experience goes well for you! ♥
-------------------------------
Fi - 2006-01-30 20:57:51
You have brought back memories of childhood. We call it creamed honey over here and it was always part of our Sunday breakfast. Creamed honey and crumpets. MMMMMMM
-------------------------------

previous // next