Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

It was MY great grandma, dammit! Mine!!

2006-01-19
11:59 p.m.

One more day to this court term. Can I hear an amen?!? I need a haircut in the worst way, can't find anything else to wear, and have heard all the stories my co-workers tell every term. Well, maybe not all of them, but I've heard a bunch of repeats. Three weeks of home sounds just fine right now.

Working in court is a new experience for me. I worked in Workers' Comp court for a lot of years, but I've freelanced longer, which is very different from working in court. And WC Court is a whole different ball of wax, really.

I've noticed in nearly every attorney's voir dire to the jury panel they bring out a story about their mother/grandmother/great grandmother, and how their m/g/gg always said she couldn't be a juror, because she just couldn't judge anyone. They wag that tale out every time to set up their question about anyone feeling that way, that they shouldn't serve on a jury because they just can't judge anyone, kind of like my mama/grandma/great grandma felt? The colloquialisms get more and more hokey the further they get into it, though I know why they're doing it.

Every time I hear that I want to jump up and tell them I had two grandmothers that would have both been happy to tell anyone just what their opinion was, thank you very much. And my mom would, too!

I commented on that fact to my judge today when we had time to sit around and talk (after our defendant plead guilty before we got the jury in the box). He got on his high horse, telling me how they all stole that from him when HE was a practicing attorney! It was HIS great grandma, who died when she was 97, that said that! Then he went on to tell me all the other stories/tactics that were HIS that our current batch of attorneys are using. Made me wish I'd kept my mouth shut, because then I had to listen to them all over again. See how bad I need some time off???? (insert whiney tone here)

I can't decide if working in court is more like working in a circus or more like working in the theater. I guess maybe a little bit of both, and I'm the reporter monkey, front and center. :)

Hopefully after I get out of term I can actually find something interesting to write about again.

Over and out.


1 comments so far Summer gale - 2006-01-20 16:14:01
That is too funny about the Judge you must have been in agony LOL!
-------------------------------

previous // next